ICC Live

CT 2017 - Buy Tickets - 300x250


What are your thoughts on this article?

Afridi in, Malik and Kamran out for WI tour

Pakistan selectors ring in the changes “in consultation with team management” after Champions Trophy disaster

Afridi in, Malik and Kamran out for WI tour - Cricket News
Pakistani cricketer Shahid Afridi has been called up for the West Indies tour.
Shoaib Malik, Kamran Akmal and Imran Farhat were dropped from the Pakistan team for this month's limited-overs series in the West Indies, but Shahid Afridi was back after being out of the team for a while.
Malik managed just 25 runs in three matches while Kamran scored just 23 in his three outings and Farhat scored just four in two innings. As a team, Pakistan failed to cross the 170-run mark in any of their games.
They will play five One-Day Internationals and two Twenty20 Internationals in the Caribbean, with the first ODI scheduled to be held in Guyana on July 14. Misbah-ul-Haq will lead the ODI team while Mohammad Hafeez will lead the T20 side.
Iqbal Qasim, the chief selector, said the 16-man ODI and 15-man T20I squads were selected after discussions with the team management. “We have selected separate squads after consultation with Misbah and coach Dav Whatmore and we hope that it will do well," said Qasim.
Afridi has been dropped from the ODI squad twice in the last six months after he failed to impress with both bat and ball, but Qasim said Afridi was being given one more chance. “We have selected Afridi as per the requirement for the West Indies tour where we need a legspinner and he is one of the physically fittest players," explained Qasim.
Afridi has not taken a single wicket in his last six ODIs.
Also back in the ODI team is Umar Akmal, who will also keep wickets. Mohammad Rizwan, the uncapped 21-year-old, was named as the team’s reserve wicketkeeper.
Ahmed Shahzad also staged a comeback after being left out two years ago though Umar Gul remained sidelined after undergoing knee surgery in May.
ODI squad: Misbah-ul-Haq (capt), Mohammad Hafeez, Nasir Jamshed, Ahmed Shahzad, Asad Shafiq, Shahid Afridi, Umar Akmal (wk), Umar Amin, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Irfan, Asad Ali, Junaid Khan, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Saeed Ajmal, Abdul Rehman.
T20I squad: Mohammad Hafeez (capt), Ahmed Shahzad, Nasir Jamshed, Shahid Afridi, Umar Akmal (wk), Haris Sohail, Hammad Azam, Sohail Tanveer, Wahab Riaz, Asad Ali, Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan, Umar Amin, Saeed Ajmal, Zulfiqar Babar.

Similar Articles