ICC Live

CT 2017 - Buy Tickets - 300x250


What are your thoughts on this article?

Bangladesh v Pakistan Preview: Ajmal returns to action

The offspinner is back with a reworked action even as Bangladesh fancies its chances against a visiting side with fresh faces and depleted by injuries

Bangladesh v Pakistan Preview: Ajmal returns to action  - Cricket News
Pakistan's pace department will welcome back Junaid Khan, who missed the World Cup with a hamstring injury, and will lead the pace attack.
Pakistan gears up for life after Misbah-ul-Haq and Shahid Afridi as it takes on Bangladesh in a three-match One-Day International series starting on Friday (April 17) in Dhaka. 
With Misbah and Afridi having retired from ODIs after the World Cup, the Pakistan Cricket Board named Azhar Ali as captain of the ODI side. Ali, 30, has played 14 ODIs, the last of which was in January 2013, and is set to lead a new-look team that includes just five players who featured in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015.
A big challenge for Ali on his first tour as captain will be the number of injuries in the squad. Sohaib Maqsood and Sohail Khan, who were part of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 squad, were ruled out prior to the tour and the team suffered another setback on Thursday when Yasir Shah, the legspinner, was ruled out with a hand injury. Zulfiqar Babar, the 36-year-old left-arm spinner, was named his replacement.
The side, though, will be boosted by the return of two senior players – Mohammad Hafeez and Saeed Ajmal. Hafeez returns to action after missing the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 due to a leg injury, while Ajmal is set to return to international cricket with a remodelled action after being suspended from bowling in international cricket in September 2014.
Ajmal, who has 178 Test, 183 ODI and 85 Twenty20 International wickets, was cleared to bowl again in February, but ruled himself out of the World Cup in which Pakistan lost to eventual champions Australia in the quarter-final.
The pace department will also welcome back Junaid Khan, who missed the World Cup with a hamstring injury. Junaid will lead the pace attack along with Wahab Riaz, while Ehsan Adil and Rahat Ali will play the supporting role.
Bangladesh, on the other hand, will be quietly confident and is looking at this series as its best chance of improving its record against Pakistan. The two sides have met each other in 47 matches across all formats and Bangladesh has won just once, with the lone victory coming in the 1999 World Cup in England. 
Bangladesh had an impressive outing in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 and entered the quarter-final for the first time, before bowing out with a loss to India. Shakib Al Hasan will lead the side in the first ODI in the absence of Mashrafe Mortaza, who has been suspended for one match due to slow over-rates during the World Cup. 
The batting looks stable with Mahmudullah and Mushfiqur Rahim in fine form. Mahmudullah scored back-to-back centuries in the World Cup to become the only Bangladesh batsman to score a ton in the tournament's history, while Rahim and Shakib made good contributions too. Soumya Sarkar and Sabbir Rahman also showed promise – Sabbir also getting a match-winning century in a warm-up game against the Pakistan side – but Bangladesh will hope for more runs from Tamim Iqbal, the experienced opener. Rony Talukdar, the 24-year-old batsman, has been handed a national call-up.
Rubel Hossain and Taskin Ahmed form the pace attack while Nasir Hossain, Shakib, Mahmudullah and Rahman give Bangladesh a number of spinning options.
The three-match ODI series will be followed by a T20I on April 24, before the two-Test series begins on April 28.  
Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Rony Talukdar, Soumya Sarkar, Mominul Haque, Mohammad Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Arafat Sunny, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain, Abul Hasan.
Pakistan : Azhar Ali (capt), Sami Aslam, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Mohammad Hafeez, Asad Shafiq, Fawad Alam, Mohammad Rizwan, Haris Sohail, Saad Nasim, Saeed Ajmal, Wahab Riaz, Rahat Ali, Ehsan Adil, Junaid Khan.

Similar Articles