ICC Live

CT 2017 - Buy Tickets - 300x250


What are your thoughts on this article?

2014 Pepsi ICC East Asia-Pacific Annual Awards Announced

The EAP award winners will now join winners from the four other Pepsi ICC Development Programme Regions

2014 Pepsi ICC East Asia-Pacific Annual Awards Announced - Cricket News
The “Photo of the Year” was taken by the Vanuatu Cricket Association.
The International Cricket Council (ICC) East Asia-Pacific (EAP) Region has today announced the winners of the 2014 Pepsi ICC EAP Development Programme Annual Awards.
Best Overall Cricket Development Programme  
Cricket PNG
Lifetime Service Award Oliver Syme (Cook Islands)
Volunteer of the Year Randy Reckerman (Indonesia)
Women’s Cricket ‘Behind the Scenes’ Award Alister Stevic (Cook Islands)
Spirit of Cricket Award Graeme Lele (Vanuatu)
Photo of the Year Vanuatu Cricket Association

Cricket PNG has won the award for “Best Overall Cricket Development Programme” due to their strong organizational structure which has allowed them to effectively implement their cricket development programme. With an active, competent board and a working staff of over eighty employees, Cricket PNG enjoyed an exciting 2014. PNG became the first nation in the EAP region to be granted ODI status by the ICC after a strong performance at the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier. They completed a successful first ever ODI series against Hong Kong winning both matches. During the year, their BSP School Kriket Programme consolidated its reputation as PNG’s leading junior sports product with a participation base of nearly 200,000.  School cricket competitions also saw strong growth in numbers and a significant improvement in structure via the successful Gold Nuggets School Kriket Trophy for children aged 12-19. The nation’s first Cricket Disability program Kriket Blo Olgeta was also launched out of funding received from the Australian Government’s Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade through the Pacific Sports Partnership Program.  

Oliver Syme from the Cook Islands receives the “Lifetime Service Award” after being involved in Cook Islands cricket as an administrator, volunteer, coach, umpire and player for over 50 years. Syme has been stalwart in introducing programmes that have increased participation and playing numbers and designing initiatives to attract and retain volunteer officials and umpires. Currently he has served as the Cook Islands’ Cricket Association President for 5 ½ years.

Randy Reckerman from Indonesia has won a hotly contested “Volunteer of the Year” award. This year’s award was put to two separate votes on social media. Reckerman won heat 1 and PNG’s Rajitha Ratwatte won heat 2. In a close call Reckerman was chosen the winner by a panel of judges for his ongoing negotiation with government to gain support for cricket in Indonesia and his tireless work securing donated junior equipment. On top of this Reckerman spends the majority of his weekends in front of a computer updating the results and stats from all matches and players right across the Jakarta Cricket League. He does this after volunteering as an umpire, scorer, commentator and ground coordinator at the matches themselves.  An honourable mention also goes to PNG’s Rajitha Ratwatte for the outstanding work he did in 2014 in setting up a stable competition in the region of Lae and successfully maintaining corporate relationships in the region. Congratulations also to Chris Thurgate and Kenny Matsamuru both from Japan who also both polled well on Facebook due to their tremendous work to grow the game in their country.

The inaugural “Women’s Cricket ‘Behind the Scenes’ Award” was won by Alister Stevic the CEO of the Cook Islands Cricket Association. In 2010 Stevic introduced women's cricket to the Cook Islands. Since then the country now boasts over 30 senior women and junior cricket teams. At senior level he has created a women's High Performance Programme that sets standards for its players which includes mental, fitness and technique skills training. Over the course of the year Cook Islands Cricket had 13 passionate dedicated women in the programme. Stevic also took a risk by entering the women's national team into the men's T20 Domestic Competition. In addition teams visiting to compete against the men's national team also played in two exhibition matches against the national women's side. This decision paid huge dividends when the women’s team was selected to attend the 2014 ICC EAP Women's Trophy in Japan. It was an historic occasion for the Cook Islands as the women's national team registered their first ever victory at an ICC event. Within two months of returning from the Japan tournament Stevic had established an U19 girl’s national side.

The “Spirit of Cricket Award” has been won by Graeme Lele from the Vanuatu Cricket Association for the partnership he formed between cricket and the Vanuatu Police Force and the Department of Health in Luganville on the Island of Santo. Cricket sessions on the islands are now combined with crime prevention awareness run by the Vanuatu Crime Prevention Unit and also sessions on healthy living and nutrition run by the Department of Health.

The “Photo of the Year” was taken by the Vanuatu Cricket Association. The picture shows students from Isla School on the island of Tanna playing cricket on the ash plains of Vanuatu’s most active volcano Mount Yasur. Please see photo attached.

The EAP award winners will now join winners from the four other Pepsi International Cricket Council (ICC) Development Programme Regions at the ICC Global Awards.

The ICC Development Programme Awards were established to recognize exceptional performance and service to the game of cricket in all Associate and Affiliate member countries, and aims to recognize these contributions among all levels of cricket development.

The ICC EAP office would like to congratulate all winners and those who submitted nominations for the 2014 awards. We wish you the best of luck for the Global Awards and for another great year in 2015.