ICC Live

CT 2017 - Buy Tickets - 300x250


What are your thoughts on this article?

Zimbabwe Women triumph in Africa Regional Qualifier for ICC Women’s World Cup 2017

Zimbabwe Women now advance to Global Qualifier to be held in early 2017 ahead of ICC Women’s World Cup, England 2017

Zimbabwe Women triumph in Africa Regional Qualifier for ICC Women’s World Cup 2017
 - Cricket News
Zimbabwe is one of the four Regional Qualifiers to participate in the event.




Tanzania won the toss and elected to bat in a sunny bright morning at the country club cricket oval. Tanzania posted a score of 79 for 5 in their allotted 20 overs. Uganda’s best bowling figures were C Namugenyi who took 1 for 14 runs in her four over spell. Uganda then occupied the crease and sought a revenge for their earlier defeat against Tanzania and posted a victorious score of 80 for 2 in 19 overs. Top scorer for Uganda was N Bagenda who scored 41 runs in 53 balls. Uganda won by 8 wickets in the 19th over. B Saidi took 1 wicket for 22 runs in her allotted four overs. 


The log leaders, Zimbabwe took on Kenya in the first match of the 3rd morning at Alex Sports club. Zimbabwe needed to beat Kenya to secure the only qualification spot and Kenya needed to beat Zimbabwe to remain in contention of the qualification berth. Zimbabwe won the toss and elected to bat. P Marange was in a destructive mood and she showed her intent in the second over by powering 17 runs off it. The opening stand collected 57 runs in 7 overs before M Mupachikwa was dismissed. P Marange went on to score the first individual and only fifty of the tournament off 35 balls. She was later bowled round her legs by Njogore for 71 off 56 balls making it the highest individual score. Hitting 7 sixes and 4 fours in her innings to help Zimbabwe reach 141 for 6 in 20 overs. S Wetoto picked the most wicket of 2 for 18 in her 4 overs. Kenya openers strode out to chase but Zimbabwe bowled with a lot of discipline restricting Kenya to 73 all out. D Njoroge was  top scorer with 13 off 19 balls. N Mutasa was peak of the bowlers with 2 for 12 in her 3.5 overs giving Zimbabwe the win by 68 runs



Uganda won the toss and elected to bat. They scored a total of 94 for 6 in 20 overs. The best bowling figures recorded by E Mbofana who took 2 for 13 in 2 overs. Zimbabwe then went for the kill to register a undefeated team in this event by scoring 95 for 4 wickets in 18.3 overs. Top scorer for Zimbabwe was M Mupachikwa who scored 30 in 50 balls thus the celebration started with the Zimbabwe national team. 


The much improved Tanzanians took on Kenya on their final game of the tournament. Tanzania won the toss and elected to bat. They lost an early wicket but the captain F Kibasu top scored with 31 off 38 balls to help her team post 70 runs for 7 despite scoring 7 runs off their last 5 overs. M Mwangi was peak of the bowlers with 2 for 3 runs in her 2 overs. Kenya shuffled their batting order with S Wetoto pushed up the order to open. She didn’t waste much time as she teared through Tanzania bowling attack. Wetoto scored freely, picking boundries at ease. She top scored with 44 off 24 balls. Z Finkili was the only bowler to pick a wicket at a cost of 17 runs in her 2.1 overs. Kenya won the match by 7 wickets.

With Zimbabwe Women at the top of the points table in the Africa Regional Qualifier with six straight wins, the team has sealed its berth in the ten-team ICC Women’s World Cup Global Qualifier in 2017. Zimbabwe is one of the four Regional Qualifiers to participate in the event, alongside the bottom four from the ICC Women’s Championship table and Bangladesh Women and Ireland Women, who have qualified based on One-Day International status. Four out of the ten teams will then progress to the eight-team ICC Women's World Cup in England in 2017.

Three more Regional Qualifiers will be held to decide the remaining the winners. The East Asia Pacific Regional Qualifier will be in Samoa between July 15 and 22 this year, amongst Papua New Guinea, Samoa and Japan. The Europe Regional Qualifier will be in Essex between July 14 and 17, amongst Scotland and the Netherlands. The Asia Regional Qualifier will be in Hong Kong in September between China, Thailand, Hong Kong and Nepal.

Similar Articles