Afghanistan names final 15 man squad for ICC Cricket World Cup 2015

Mohammad Nabi named captain; squad includes four pacers
Mohammad Nabi was named the captain of Afghanistan’s 15-man squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 that will take place in Australia and New Zealand in February and March.
This will be Afghanistan’s maiden appearance in a World Cup, although the side has some big-match experience, having taken part in World Twenty20 tournaments earlier. The side will continue to rely on the core of senior players – with the likes of Samiullah Shenwari, Nawroz Mangal, Asghar Stanikzai, Shapoor Zadran, Dawlat Zadran, Mirwais Ashraf and Hamid Hassan all part of the side.
Afghanistan also has a couple of young talents in the team, with the 21-year-old wicketkeeper-batsman Afsar Zazai and the 18-year-old batsman Usman Ghani picked in the squad.

Shapoor, Dawlat, Hassan and Aftab Alam form the pace attack, with Shenwari’s legspin and Nabi’s offspin leading the spin contingent.
The side also has four standbys named, in Shafiqullah, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Izatullah Dawlatzai and Hashmatullah Shaidi.

Afghanistan start its ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 Campaign against Bangladesh in a  Pool A clash in Hamilton.  

Afghanistan Squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015

Mohammad Nabi (capt),
Nawroz Mangal,
Asghar Stanikzai,
Samiullah Shenwari,
Afsar Zazai (wk),
Najibullah Zadran,
Nasir Jamal,
Mirwais Ashraf,
Gulbadin Naib,
Hamid Hassan,
Shapoor Zadran,
Dawlat Zadran,
Aftab Alam,
Javed Ahmadi,
Usman Ghani.
Shafiqullah (wk),
Sharafuddin Ashraf,
Izatullah Dawlatzai,
Hashmatullah Shaidi.

More News

Live Cricket

ICC Events

1 June - 18 June 2017

No fixtures available.

Group A

Pos Team P NRR Pts
1 Australia 0 0.00 0
2 Bangladesh 0 0.00 0
3 England 0 0.00 0
4 New Zealand 0 0.00 0

Group B

Pos Team P NRR Pts
1 India 0 0.00 0
2 Pakistan 0 0.00 0
3 South Africa 0 0.00 0
4 Sri Lanka 0 0.00 0
Tournament Home


England Perfomance Polo
England Perfomance Polo
ICC Champions Trophy 2017
India T-Shirt
India T-Shirt
ICC Champions Trophy 2017
8 Nations Polo Shirt
8 Nations Polo Shirt
ICC Champions Trophy 2017
View Shop

ICC on Social