All you need to know about the Cricket World Cup knockout stage

Scene set for semi-finals as India take on New Zealand in Mumbai | Match 46 Preview | CWC23

All eyes will be on Wankhede Stadium as India host New Zealand in the first semi-final at the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup

Wednesday 15 November – Semi-Final 1: India vs New Zealand

The tournament hosts face the Kiwis in a repeat of a semi-final from the 2019 World Cup. This match will be held in Mumbai at the Wankhede Stadium.

Thursday 16 November – Semi-Final 2: South Africa v Australia

Big-hitting South Africa and Australia meet in a highly-anticipated match-up at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

Sunday 19 November – Final

The winners of the two semi-finals will meet in Ahmedabad.

Indiacruised through the group stage, finishing top on a maximum 18 points having won all nine of their matches. India's net run rate of 2.570 was far and away the best in the group stage.

India cap off group stage with ninth win | Digital Daily: Episode 45 | CWC23

Digital Daily looks back on India’s dominant win over The Netherlands with Sanjay Manjrekar and ICC Digital Insider Tanvi Shah

South Africawere the second team to qualify, winning seven of their nine matches. An early loss to the Netherlands was a shock, and they also slipped to a heavy defeat to India after both teams had already secured qualification.

Australia bounced back from defeats to India and South Africa in their opening matches to win the remaining seven and qualify with 14 points.

New Zealand v India | CWC 2019 Semi-Final | Match Highlights

A rain-affected semi-final between New Zealand and India played over two days.

New Zealand were the final team to qualify for the knockout stage, with a win over Sri Lanka and Pakistan's subsequent loss to England earning the Kiwis fourth spot. Four defeats on the bounce after a strong start saw the Black Caps finish with ten points.

India squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishan Kishan, Prasidh Krishna, Suryakumar Yadav.

South Africa squad: Temba Bavuma (c), Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Lizaad Williams.

**Australia squad:**Pat Cummins (c), Steve Smith, Alex Carey, Josh Inglis, Sean Abbott, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitch Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa, Mitchell Starc.

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (c),****Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Will Young.

Tournament hosts India are eyeing a first major ICC tournament win in 12 years, and will have the crowd on their side on home soil, as they did in 2011.

South Africa’s men are hoping to reach a first-ever World Cup semi-final, after their women's team ended the nation's wait for a final appearance earlier this year.

Australia v South Africa | CWC 1999 Semi-Final | Match Highlights

One of the greatest finishes in World Cup history, Australia and South Africa played out a classic in the 1999 Cricket World Cup semi-final.

Australia are the most successful nation in the history of the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup and would make it six wins should they triumph in India.

New Zealand have reached the knockout stages of five consecutive ICC Men's Cricket World Cups, but were beaten finalists in each of the last two editions.

Both semi-finals and the final can use a reserve day should a result be unable to be reached due to weather.

An overall US$10 million pot has been announced for the tournament.

The winners of the tournament will take home US$4 million, with the runners-up winning US$2 million.

Teams will also collect US$40,000 for every group stage win.

The ICC’s Global broadcast partner Disney Star and its licensees will broadcast each of the knockout matches live on a global basis.

In India, Star Sports Network will be the place to watch, while cricket’s first-of-its-kind vertical feed coverage produced by ICC TV and supported by Disney Star continues, providing fans with an easier and more intuitive mobile phone viewing experience allowing users to consume content on-the-go.

Fans in the UK can catch the action live on Sky Sports Cricket, Sky Sports Main Event, Sky Sports Mix, Sky Showcase and digitally via the SkyGO and Sky Sports App. Primetime, free-to-air highlights will be available on Channel 5 and My5 App for the first time.

WillowTV will be the channel to watch for fans in the USA whilst coverage will also be available via the ESPN+ app. SuperSport and its app will broadcast the action in South Africa and to the 52 Sub-Saharan Africa territories. Fox Sports and Kayo will be the home of Australian coverage along with select matches on Channel Nine and 9Now. For fans in New Zealand, Sky Sport NZ is the place to be for Men’s Cricket World Cup matches.

In the UAE and the entire MENA region, all matches will be streamed Live on STARZPLAY, with broadcast coverage made available on CricLife MAX in the UAE.

A complete list of broadcasters is below.

Semi-Final 1: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

A “cricket capital” of sorts, the Wankhede hosted the final of the Men's Cricket World Cup the last time it was held in India back in 2011.

The distinct red-soil pitch will no doubt play its part.

Sachin Tendulkar's prolific campaign | CWC 1996

Sachin Tendulkar's prolific campaign | CWC 1996

Semi-Final 2: Eden Gardens, Kolkata

Before the Narendra Modi Stadium’s renovation, Eden Gardens held the title for the largest venue in India with a capacity of 68,000.

The ground didn't see World Cup action until 28 October.

The ground is known for its lively pitch and breezy conditions next to the Hooghly River.

Eden Gardens: historic and ever-evolving Kolkata venue | CWC23

Eden Gardens in Kolkata will host five matches including a semi-final at the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2023

The Final: Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad

The largest sports stadium in the world hosted the tournament opener on 5 October, India's win over Pakistan on 14 October, and is the venue for the tournament final.

The 132,000-capacity venue’s redevelopment was completed in 2021, hosting a day-night Test between India and England, as well as the last two IPL finals.

Dinesh Karthik breaks down India v Pakistan | CWC 2023

Dinesh Karthik looks at India v Pakistan at Cricket World Cup 2023

For all the matches and live scores at Cricket World Cup 2023 head to

New ZealandIndiaAustraliaSouth AfricaICC Cricket World Cup, 2023Cricket World CupMen's News