ICC Live

CT 2017 - Buy Tickets - 300x250


What are your thoughts on this article?

Ponting named captain of ODI Team of the Year

The ICC today announced its ODI Team of the Year, as chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by West Indian batting legend Clive Lloyd.

Ricky Ponting was named to lead a select ICC World ODI Team of The Year
Ponting named as captain as Dhoni keeps wicket for the third year running

The ICC today announced its ODI Team of the Year, as chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by West Indian batting legend Clive Lloyd.

The announcement was made at the LG ICC Awards celebration at the Grand Castle, Bengaluru. Presented in association with FICA, the ICC Awards recognise the best international players of the past 12 months.

ICC World ODI Team of the Year is (in batting order):

Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)
Shane Watson (Aus)
Michael Hussey (Aus)
AB de Villiers (SA)
Paul Collingwood (Eng)
Ricky Ponting (Aus, captain)
MS Dhoni (Ind, wicketkeeper)
Daniel Vettori (NZ)
Stuart Broad (Eng)
Doug Bollinger (Aus)
Ryan Harris (Aus)

Five countries are represented in the 11-man line-up and just one player - Mahendra Singh Dhoni of India - also appeared in the ICC World ODI Team of the Year in 2009. Dhoni is named as wicketkeeper of the team for the third year running while Australia captain Ricky Ponting is named captain, a role he held in the World ODI Team of the Year in 2008.

There are five Australians in the side, three of whom were part of the victorious ICC Champions Trophy 2009 team in South Africa, while New Zealand's Daniel Vettori was part of the Black Caps side that lost out to Ponting's men in the final.

Chairman of the LG ICC Awards selection panel, Clive Lloyd, said: "Selecting this year's ODI team was very difficult but I feel we have a good line up which has both batting strength and balanced bowling. It was a very difficult task in selecting this year's ODI team but looking at the line-up I feel it has great balance and depth. It would be a tough team for anyone to beat."

Lloyd was joined on the panel by former Australia batsman Matthew Hayden, former England bowler Angus Fraser, former Zimbabwe player and England coach Duncan Fletcher and former India all-rounder Ravi Shastri. Statistics were available as a guide but were not necessarily the overwhelming factor in the choices made.

The ICC ODI Team of the Year was one of two teams selected by the ICC selection panel along with the Test line-up. There were also nine individual prizes given at this year's LG ICC Awards.

The Selection Panel

The LG ICC Awards selection panel was charged with two main tasks: providing a long-list of nominations to the 25 members of the voting academy to cast their votes in the individual player award categories and, using their experience, knowledge and appreciation of the game, select the ICC World Test and ODI teams.

Clive Lloyd (chairman)

One of the most recognisable and respected figures in world cricket, Lloyd captained the West Indies to the first two ICC Cricket World Cups (in 1975 and 1979) and played a crucial role in the overall success of the team during the 1970s and early 1980s. As a big, hard-hitting, left-handed batsman he scored more than 7,500 runs in 110 Tests, including 19 centuries, and was named Wisden Cricketer of the Year in 1971. When he retired from playing, he remained involved as a coach, manager and ICC match referee and is currently the chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee.

Angus Fraser

One of England's most consistent bowlers during the 1990s, Fraser was a typical English seam bowler who had a talent for exploiting a surface that offered a hint of lateral movement. He represented England in 46 Test matches, claiming 177 Test wickets with an economy-rate of 2.66. He represented Middlesex at county cricket level for the majority of his career and upon his retirement in 2002 he became a journalist with The Independent newspaper before he returned to Middlesex in 2008 to take up the role of managing director of cricket for the club.

Duncan Fletcher

Fletcher was a talented all-rounder, a superb fielder and captained Zimbabwe during the latter part of its pre-Test era. He led the side to a famous victory over Australia in the 1983 Cricket World Cup and later went on to coach such teams as Western Province in South Africa and Glamorgan in Wales. In 1999 he became the first foreigner and non-Test player to coach England and is perhaps most well-remembered there for coaching England to its 2005 Ashes victory.

Matthew Hayden

Former Australia opening batsman, Hayden represented his country in 103 Tests and 161 ODIs between 1993 and 2008, won two ICC Cricket World Cups and collected the ICC ODI Player of the Year award in 2007. He currently still sits seventh in the list for most Test centuries scored (30) and was one half of Australia's most successful opening Test partnership with Justin Langer, the pair scored 5,655 Test runs together, a feat only bettered by West Indies' Gordon Greenidge and Desmond Haynes. Upon retirement from international cricket, Hayden joined the Cricket Australia Board.

Ravi Shastri

A left-arm spinner and talented batsman, Shastri played in 80 Tests and 150 ODIs for India during 1981 and 1992. He acted as vice-captain to the side on numerous occasions and on the one occasion he captained the team he led it to victory in a Test against the West Indies in Chennai in 1987. Of batsmen who have played 10 Test innings against Australia, only Eddie Paynter averages more than Shastri's 77.75. Upon retirement in 1992 Shastri turned to commentary where he is widely respected for his insight and views.

Based on the period between 24 August 2009 and 10 August 2010, the LG ICC Awards 2010 - presented in association with FICA - take into account performances by players and officials in a remarkable period for the game.

The LG ICC Awards ceremony is now in its seventh year and this year is being held in Bengaluru. Previous ceremonies were held in London (2004), Sydney (2005), Mumbai (2006), Johannesburg (2007 and 2009) and Dubai (2008).

Similar Articles