ICC Live

CT 2017 - Buy Tickets - 300x250


What are your thoughts on this article?

CSA announces national selection panel

Andrew Hudson is re-appointed convener of the national selection committee

CSA announces national selection panel - Cricket News
Andrew Hudson with psychologist Henning Gericke during a training session.
Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Friday announced the re-appointment of Andrew Hudson as convener of the national selection committee as well as the appointment of two new selectors in former KwaZulu-Natal wicketkeeper Linda Zondi and former Gauteng all-rounder Hussein Manack.
Shafiek Abrahams, who like Hudson represented the Proteas at full international level, has been retained on the panel which is completed by the ex officio appointment of Russell Domingo as the Proteas head coach.
The new panel will serve until the next ICC Cricket World Cup in Australia and New Zealand in 2015.
CSA High Performance Manager Vinnie Barnes and CSA Transformation Manager Max Jordaan will also serve on the committee in a non-voting capacity.
“The Board felt the need for a stronger independent component to the selection committee,” commented CSA Acting CEO Naasei Appiah. “The previous panel had a majority of members who were employed by CSA. The national coach is the only voting member of the new panel who is employed by CSA.
“As part of their mandate there will have to be a selector on duty at all franchise matches in all the different competitions.
“Linda Zondi is succeeding Shafiek Abrahams as convener of the national under-19 panel and he will have a key role to play as the under-19 group is a vital area of our talent catchment area.”
Zondi was a member of the first official national under-19 team under the auspices of the then United Cricket Board of South Africa to tour England in 1995. This was a tour that launched the international careers of Neil McKenzie, Boeta Dippenaar, Ashwell Prince, Mark Boucher and Makhaya Ntini.
Manack performed the double of 2 000 runs (three centuries) and 50 wickets during his first-class career.
CSA Selection Committee: Andrew Hudson (convenor), Linda Zondi, Hussein Manack, Shafiek Abrahams, Russell Domingo (national coach)
Non-voting ex-officio members: Vinnie Barnes (CSA High Performance Manager), Maxwell Jordaan (CSA Transformation Manager)

Similar Articles