ICC Live

CT 2017 - Buy Tickets - 300x250


What are your thoughts on this article?

Ireland takes on Scotland in final T20I

Two sides lock horns in fourth and final T20I with visitors leading series 2-0, but rain could play spoilsport

Ireland takes on Scotland in final T20I - Cricket News
Mathew Cross (in pic) and Preston Mommsen have been shouldering the batting responsibilities for Scotland.

Ireland and Scotland will head into the fourth and final Twenty20 International, albeit a dead rubber, at the Bready Cricket Club Ground in Magheramason on Sunday (June 21). However, much will depend on whether rain stays away, with thunderstorms predicted later in the day.

Scotland won the the four-match series 2-0 on Saturday, overhauling Ireland's 167-run target in the third T20I with four wickets in hand. Matthew Cross, fresh from a 34-ball 60 in the first game, hammered 48 off 30 balls as the side got across the line with 11 balls to spare.

Scotland won the first match of the series by six wickets as well, with Safyaan Sharif and Michael Leask the pick of the bowlers and Cross and Preston Mommsen shouldering the batting responsibilities.

For Ireland, its batsmen have let it down, with Kevin O'Brien alone performing consistently. In the bowling department, George Dockrell, the left-arm spinner, did well in the third match, bagging 3 for 21 in his four overs.

Ireland has been unable to field its strongest XI for the tournament with William Porterfield, its regular captain, Gary Wilson, the wicketkeeper, Paul Stirling, Niall O'Brien, and John Mooney being unavailable for selection. Kevin is leading the side in Porterfield's absence.

After the second game was washed out without a ball being bowled, the series, originally scheduled to be a three-match affair, was extended to a four-match competition.

Teams (from)

Ireland: Kevin O'Brien (capt), Andrew Balbirnie, Alex Cusack, George Dockrell, Tyrone Kane, Andrew McBrine, Graeme McCarter, David Rankin, Andrew Poynter, Stuart Poynter (wk), Max Sorensen, John Anderson, Stuart Thompson, Craig Young.

Scotland: Preston Mommsen (capt), Richie Berrington, Kyle Coetzer, Matthew Cross (wk), Josh Davey, Con de Lange, Alasdair Evans, Michael Leask, Gavin Main, George Munsey, Safyaan Sharif, Craig Wallace, Mark Watt.

Similar Articles