ICC Live

CT 2017 - Buy Tickets - 300x250


What are your thoughts on this article?

​Shaun Tait makes T20I comeback after long gap

Australia rewards Big Bash League performers keeping the ICC World Twenty20 in mind

​Shaun Tait makes T20I comeback after long gap - Cricket News
Shaun Tait, after a long gap, and Nathan Lyon, for the first time, have been drafted in to the Australian Twenty20 International squad, to be led by Aaron Finch, for the three-match series against India.
Apart from Tait and Lyon, Shane Watson, too, returned after a gap. The selectors also included Chris Lynn, Travis Head, Andrew Tye and Cameron Boyce, all of who have put up strong cases through their performances in the Big Bash League, in the 17-man squad, keeping the ICC World Twenty20 in India in March-April in mind.

Lyon has not represented Australia in limited-overs cricket since October 2014, but his performances for Sydney Sixers in the BBL has put him back in contention. Lyon’s seven wickets in four matches include 5 for 23 against Hobart Hurricanes. Lyon, in fact, is one of only two bowlers, apart from Brisbane Heat’s Samuel Badree, to take five wickets in an innings in the ongoing BBL.
“Our choice of Nathan Lyon comes off the back of good form in the BBL and we decided the time is right to have another look at him in the shorter forms of the game,” Rod Marsh, the national selector, said on Monday (January 18).
Lyon has played eight One-Day Internationals between 2012 and 2014 for 11 wickets, with a best of 4 for 44.
Watson was a part of Australia’s last T20I assignment against England in August last year, but had missed out on the ODI series against India. He has been in good form for Sydney Thunder, scoring 222 runs in eight matches at a strike rate of 136.19.

“Shane Watson has earned his recall to Australian colours through a combination of his experience – especially in short-form cricket – the all-round package he offers and the fact he is bang in form at the moment, having put performances on the board for the Sydney Thunder,” said Marsh.
Tait, meanwhile, finished the BBL season with ten wickets in eight games for Hobart Hurricanes at 24.70.
One of the fastest bowlers at his peak, Tait, 32, last played for Australia in the 2011 World Cup quarterfinal against India in Ahmedabad. Tait, who has 28 wickets in 19 T20Is, has not turned out for Australia in the shortest format since January 2011.

Explaining the logic behind recalling Tait after five years, Marsh said, “Shaun Tait returns on the basis that he is the quickest bowler going around in Australia at the moment and he offers us that explosive option if we choose to use it. Like Shane Watson, he is also vastly experienced in Twenty20 cricket.”
Lynn and Head are among the BBL season’s top run-getters, having scored a century each, while Tye, a right-arm medium pacer, and Boyce, a legspinner, are among the most successful bowlers in the competition.
Marsh said the squad had been selected with an eye on figuring out the best combination for the big event. 

“Chris Lynn, Travis Head and Andrew Tye have made irresistible cases for inclusion off the back of individual excellence in the BBL and we are delighted to offer them the opportunity to push their claims for inclusion in the World Twenty20,” said Marsh. “In terms of legspin, Cameron Boyce has once again impressed in domestic action and deserves his spot.”

Despite playing a big role in helping Australia win the first three ODIs against India and sealing the series, George Bailey has been left out of the squad.
Marsh, however, suggested that Bailey’s quality would keep him in contention for the World T20 touring party. “Sadly, we could not find places for George Bailey and Mitchell Marsh in the Twenty20 International squad but for both of them, and for others who have missed out on places in that line-up, the door is certainly not closed for selection for the World Twenty20,” offered Marsh. “We know what both those players are capable of, and both have significant experience of playing Twenty20 cricket in India where the ICC World Twenty20 takes place, but we want them to continue to press their cases for inclusion while we take this opportunity to look at other contenders.”
Steven Smith and David Warner will only feature in the first T20I and will sit out the last two matches to prepare for the ODI series in New Zealand.
The T20I series starts in Adelaide on January 26.
Squad: Aaron Finch (capt), Shane Watson, David Warner, Steven Smith, James Faulkner, Glenn Maxwell, John Hastings, Shaun Marsh, Matthew Wade (wk), Cameron Boyce, Chris Lynn, Travis Head, Kane Richardson, Nathan Lyon, Andrew Tye, Shaun Tait, Scott Boland.

Similar Articles