Exciting battle on the cards in the ICC World T20 Asia Qualifier B in Malaysia

Team Captains with the trophy at the Petronas Twin Tower at the background
Seven teams are set to contest the ICC World Twenty20 Asia Qualifier ‘B’ which begins in Malaysia on October 3.

The top three teams at the end of the round-robin tournament on Oct 12 will qualify for the ICC World Twenty20 Asia Finals. 

They will join the United Arab Emirates, Qatar and Kuwait who qualified from the ICC World Twenty20 Asia Qualifier ‘A’ held in Kuwait in April.

This tournament sees Nepal attempting to qualify for the ICC World Twenty20 for the second time after their maiden appearance in 2014.

Hosts Malaysia and Singapore, fresh from competing in the one-day ACC Asia Cup Qualifier in September, will count on their experienced squads to finish among the top three.

Bhutan, China, Myanmar and Thailand are the other teams in the fray looking to upset the established order in the battle for one of the qualifying spots to the regional finals.

Nepal, as the highest ranked team, will be favorites to win the tournament despite captain Paras Khadka admitting they were not at their best on their last visit to Malaysia for the Asia Cup Qualifier. "As a team we are eager after our last tournament did not go so well. We need to set certain standards for ourselves but we won't take anything easy," said Khadka. "It is important we play well as a team because this is an opportunity to get to the next round and stay at the top of the tree for as long as possible."

Video cwc19 02 Oct 18
ICC WT20 Asia Qualifier B – Preview

Given the popularity of cricket in Nepal, the pressure is on the team to perform well and atone for their failure to qualify for the Asia Cup. "It was one week where it did not click for us and we know where it did not go right for us. As professional players we needed to address the issues that arose," he said. "We are used to the pressure and the pressure is on us because we are the highest ranked team. Everybody expects us to do well but it's not going to be easy. Teams like Malaysia and Singapore have been tough for us in the past."

Hosts Malaysia also want to improve on their performances at the Asia Cup, where they started well by beating Hong Kong only to lose their remaining four matches. 

"We have made three changes from the squad which played at the last tournament and I think our chances of advancing to the next round is bright," said Malaysia captain Ahmad Faiz Mohammed Noor. "We will not underestimate any team because every match is important. We will field our strongest side as we want to win every match."

Myanmar and Thailand are returning to Malaysia for the first time since competing in the 2017 Kuala Lumpur Sea Games while China warmed up for this event by playing at the East Asia Cup Twenty20 tournament in September.

Thailand captain Vichanath Singh is excited by the prospect of taking on Nepal, Malaysia and Singapore and hopes his team will be able to pull off one upset to finish among the top three.

"Because of the rain back home, we haven't been able to train on the grounds much but we've had a few indoor sessions and came to Malaysia last month to play a few practice matches," said Vichanath. "The boys are really confident of playing the big teams like Nepal, Malaysia and Singapore who are at higher level than us. We are really excited at this opportunity to play against these teams and to raise the standard of our team." 

Malaysia open their campaign against Bhutan on Oct 3 at the Bayuemas Oval in Klang before Nepal face Myanmar at the same ground later in the day. 

Thailand and China meet in another match on the same day at the UKM Oval in Bangi.

With preparations for the tournament complete and all teams set to go, this promises to be an exciting event filled with mouth-watering encounters and high-quality cricket.






Bayuemas Oval 

UKM Oval



10:00 AM

Malaysia vs Bhutan

Thailand vs China

2:30 PM

Myanmar vs Nepal




10:00 AM

Bhutan vs China

Malaysia vs Thailand

2.30 PM

Myanmar vs Singapore




Rest Day



10:00 AM

Malaysia vs Nepal

Singapore vs China

2:30 PM

Thailand vs Bhutan




10:00 AM

Malaysia vs Singapore

Myanmar vs China

2.30 PM

Nepal vs Thailand




Rest Day



10:00 AM

Thailand vs Singapore

Bhutan vs Nepal

2:30 PM

Malaysia vs Myanmar




10:00 AM

Nepal vs China

Singapore vs Bhutan

2.30 PM

Myanmar vs Thailand




Rest Day



10:00 AM

Myanmar vs Bhutan

Malaysia vs China

2:30 PM

Singapore vs Nepal




Jigme Singye (C), Thinley Jamtsho, Tandin Wangchuk, Sanheejvan Raj Gurung, Kumar Subba, Manoj Adhikari, Kezang Nima, RekashPradhan, Tobden Singye, Tenzin Wangchuk, Thukten Jigme Yoezer, Ramesh Limbu, Ranjung Mikyo Dorji, Dawa Dawa


Xiaoran Chen (C), Qingshan Tan, Haotian Li, Jing Zhang, Dengzhi Ma, Wang Ya, Yufeng Shi, Jialin Jiang, Yunhui Cai, Hongjiang Yan, JinfengChen, Ning Sun, Yunfeng Zhu, Senqun Tian


Ahmad Fiaz Mohammad Noor (C), Muhamad Syahadat Ramli, Virandeep Singh, Mohd. Shafiq Mohd. Sharif, Syazrul Ezat Idrus, Syed Aziz Syed Mubarak, Mohd Anwar Arudin, Suhan Kumar Alagaratnam, Pawandeep Singh Jagjit Singh, Muhammad Wafiq Irfan Zarbani, Muhammad Anwar Abdul Rahman, Abdul Rashid Ahad, Sivanantha Gobal Krishnan, Sharvin Muniandy


Htet Lin Aung (C), Aye Min Than, Yan Naing Kyaw, Yang Naing Tun, Ko Ko Lin Thu, Paing Danu, Thu Ya Aung, Khin Aye, Aung Ko Ko, SaiHtet Wai, Htet Lin Oo, Ye Ko Ko Aung, Nyeing Cham Soe, Lwin Maw


Paras Khadka (C), Gyanendra Malla, Basant Regmi, Sharad Vesawkar, Binod Bhandari, Pradeep Airee, Sompal Kami, Karan KC, Md. Arif Sheikh, Sandeep Lamichhane, Dipendra Singh Airee, Lalit Bhandari, Anil Kumar Sah, Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi


Chetan Ramchandra Suryawanshi, Kumarage Chaminda Ruwan, Amjad Mahboob, Karthikeyan Subramanian, Surendran Chandramohan, Arjun Mutreja , Mohammad Yusof Aslam, Anantha Krishna, Aritra Dutta , Mohamed Shoib Abdul Razak, Manpreet Singh, AahanGopinath Achar, Sidhant, Janak Prakash


Vichanath Singh (C), Sittipong Hongsi, Chanchai Pengkumta, Nopphon Senamontree, Kamron Senamontree, Payupath Sungnard, Wanchana Uisuk, Kiatiwut Suttisan, Daniel Frederik Jacobs, MD Shafiqul Haque Titas, Ziaul Hoque, Nicholas Allan Janes, Sarbjot Singh, Mahsid Faheem

For results, live scores and information on the ICC World Twenty20 Asia Qualifier ‘B’ please head here.

More Media Releases

Live Cricket