T20 World Cup
T20 World Cup

50 games in 19 days! T20 World Cup regional qualifying to hit full swing in May

T20 World Cup

Hit For Six!

The month of May will showcase the ICC T20 World Cup as a global growth vehicle for cricket, with 24 countries set to take part in women’s and men’s regional qualifying events around the world.

In May alone, 50 ICC T20 World Cup qualifying matches will be played, with the four events each hosted in different countries as the field is narrowed on the road to Australia 2020.

The action begins with the Africa Women’s Qualifiers in Zimbabwe on May 5, with the hosts competing against Mozambique, Uganda, Sierra Leone, Nigeria, Uganda and Namibia for a place in the global qualifying event.

Starting the day after on May 6, Vanuatu will host PNG, Samoa, Japan and Indonesia, with the latter competing in an ICC women’s event for the first time.

The final women’s regional qualifier for the month will take place in Florida, as Cayman Islands, Bermuda and Argentina compete for one spot from the Americas.

The Men’s Africa Regional Qualifiers will also take place from May 19 with Uganda hosting Namibia, Kenya, Botswana, Ghana and Nigeria for two places in the ICC T20 World Cup Global Qualifier that will be held in the UAE later in 2019.

Video cwc19 01 Apr 19
'Hope to make it to the T20 World Cup' – Norman Vanua on cricket's rise in PNG

ICC T20 World Cup LOC CEO Nick Hockley said:

“The ICC T20 World Cup Australia 2020 is a truly global celebration that provides a platform for emerging teams to play on the world stage."

“We’re privileged to be hosting two World Cups in the one year and our ambition is for both tournaments to be the most inclusive and accessible cricket tournaments ever played.”

“A big part of that is the qualifying series and we will be keenly watching all the performances and results.”

“We’ve already seen the passion and enthusiasm for T20 cricket through the regional qualifying series and we can’t wait to give a warm welcome to all the teams who make it to Australia 2020.”

The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup will take place from 21 February – 8 March 2020 as a standalone event, while the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will be played from 18 October – 15 November 2020.

More News