Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Eoin Morgan

England name 24-player ODI training group

England news

England have named a 24-strong training group ahead of their three-match ODI series against Ireland.

The players will live and train at The Ageas Bowl in Southampton from Thursday 16 July, with two intra-squad practice matches scheduled for 21 and 24 July, before the first ODI takes place on Thursday 30 July.

With no players from the squad for their Test series against West Indies available due to the schedule clash, opportunities have been given to a number of uncapped players. Henry Brookes, Brydon Carse, Richard Gleeson, Laurie Evans, Sam Hain, Tom Helm and Phil Salt have all been named in the squad without previously appearing for England.

Usual white-ball captain Eoin Morgan will captain the squad, while the likes of Moeen Ali and Jonny Bairstow – both of whom missed out on selection for the Test squad against West Indies – are also included. Dawid Malan, Pat Brown and Chris Jordan are not in the squad due to injuries.

Brydon Carse is one of seven uncapped players named in the training group
Brydon Carse is one of seven uncapped players named in the training group

Despite the restrictions on selection, National Selector Ed Smith is happy with the squad, saying it demonstrates the depth available to them.

“Even with several multi-format players unavailable for the Ireland ODIs due to their Test commitments, there is real depth to England’s white ball playing talent.

"Again, everyone at England cricket would like to thank all the county coaches and support staff who have helped these players in the lead up to the behind-closed-doors training camp.

“We now look forward to hosting Ireland and continuing to develop our white ball strength in depth.”

England have also named their white-ball management team, which will be led by Assistant Coach Paul Collingwood in the absence of Head Coach Chris Silverwood who remains with the Test squad. He will be joined by Marcus Trescothick (batting coach) and England Young Lions coach Jon Lewis (pace bowling coach), who will be supported in their roles respectively by former Sri Lanka batting coach Jon Lewis and Neil Killeen. Claude Henderson, who played 7 Tests and 4 ODI for South Africa, has been appointed spin bowling coach while James Foster will be wicket-keeping coach.

Squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Henry Brookes, Brydon Carse, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Ben Duckett, Laurie Evans, Richard Gleeson, Lewis Gregory, Sam Hain, Tom Helm, Liam Livingstone, Saqib Mahmood, Matthew Parkinson, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Reece Topley, James Vince, David Willey.

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!