Eden Park
World Test Championship

Cricket in New Zealand to resume with series against West Indies

New Zealand news

Hit For Six!

The Black Caps are set to mark the start of a busy 2020/21 home season with a series against West Indies in November, while the White Ferns are pencilled in to host England in February.

The international season in New Zealand will get under way with a three-match men's T20I series against West Indies, set to begin on 27 November at Eden Park. Following the T20Is, the sides will play two Tests as part of the ICC World Test Championship.

That series will be followed by visits from Pakistan, Australia and Bangladesh. The series against Pakistan will also feature three T20Is, starting 18 December, followed by two ICC World Test Championship matches, including a Boxing Day Test at Mount Maunganui. New Zealand, placed fourth on the points table at present, will hope to utilise home advantage to climb up the ranks.

Australia are expected to arrive in February for a five-match T20I series before Bangladesh round off the men's season with a tour in March. The final two tours are pending government approval, but NZC CEO David White is confident of being granted the green light in due course.

With two ICC Men's T20 World Cups scheduled in the next two years, the schedule prioritises the shortest format of the game. The upcoming schedule features ODI matches only against Bangladesh. The three-match series will mark the beginning of New Zealand's ICC Men's Cricket World Cup Super League. The sides will then play three T20Is.

"Hosting these tours is incredibly important to us for two reasons – international cricket brings in revenue that funds the entire game of cricket in New Zealand and, also, it's crucial that we look after the fans of the game and sport in general, especially during these difficult times," said David White.

The White Ferns will play the visiting England side in February and March. NZC are also in discussions with regards to a visit from Australia Women. The White Ferns side is currently involved in a three-match T20I series in Australia that is followed by three ODIs.


West Indies

27 November, 2020 – 1st T20I, Eden Park, Auckland

29 November, 2020 – 2nd T20I, Bay Oval, Tauranga

30 November, 2020 – 3rd T20I, Bay Oval, Tauranga

03 December – 07 December – 1st Test, Seddon Park, Hamilton

11 December – 15 December – 2nd Test, Basin Reserve, Wellington

vs Pakistan

18 December – 1st T20I, Eden Park, Auckland

20 December – 2nd T20I, Seddon Park, Hamilton

22 December – 3rd T20I, McLean Park, Napier

26 December-30 December – 1st Test, Bay Oval, Tauranga

3 January-7 January – 2nd Test, Hagley Oval, Christchurch

vs Australia 

22 February –  1st T20I, Hagley Oval, Christchurch

25 February – 2nd T20I, University of Otago Oval, Dunedin

3 March – 3rd T20I, Sky Stadium, Wellington

5 March – 4th T20I, Eden Park, Auckland

7 March – 5th T20I, Bay Oval, Tauranga

vs Bangladesh

13 March – 1st ODI, University of Otago Oval, Dunedin

17 March – 2nd ODI, Hagley Oval, Christchurch

20 March – 3rd ODI, Basin Reserve, Wellington

23 March – 1st T20I, McLean Park, Napier

26 March – 2nd T20I, Eden Park, Auckland

28 March – 3rd T20I, Seddon Park, Hamilton

More News