Uganda players celebrate.    *Picture Credit: Cricket Uganda

20 teams finalized for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 as Uganda qualify for the first time

Uganda players celebrate.    *Picture Credit: Cricket Uganda
  • A historic occasion for Uganda who qualify for a senior ICC World Cup for the first time
  • The 20 teams are now finalized for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 which is to be hosted in the USA and West Indies

Uganda have beaten Rwanda by nine wickets, ensuring a top-two finish in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Africa qualifier and have officially locked in their place in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 in the USA and West Indies. This will be their first appearance in a senior ICC World Cup.

They join Namibia from the Africa qualifier in the Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, which will feature 20 teams for the first time ever.

The final list of qualified teams for the event is as follows:

Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Canada, England, India, Ireland, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea (PNG), Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Uganda, United States of America (USA).

Before today’s historic win, Uganda had clinched victories from four of their five fixtures, beating Tanzania, Zimbabwe, Nigeria and Kenya, only slipping against co-qualifiers, Namibia, who remain unbeaten in the tournament so far.

In their all-important match against Rwanda today, Uganda’s Alpesh Ramjani, Brian Masaba, Henry Ssenyondo and Dinesh Nakrani took two wickets each to bundle out their opposition for 65 in 18.5 overs, after putting them in to bat first.

They chased down their target in 8.1 overs, with 71 balls to spare, thanks to solid batting from Simon Ssesazi (26 from 21 deliveries), Ronak Patel (18 off 20) and Roger Mukasa (13 off 8).

Note to Editors

About the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup

For the first time, 20 teams will form part of the event and will be divided into four groups of five. The top two teams in each of the groups will move to a Super Eight phase, where the remaining teams will be split into two groups of four. The top two in each group will then make their way to the semi-finals, followed by the final.

Media Zone NewsMedia Release