Bangladesh's squad has been confirmed
T20 World Cup

Fresh and familiar faces alike in Bangladesh's T20 World Cup squad

T20 World Cup

Hit For Six!

Bangladesh have confirmed their 15-man squad for next month's ICC Men's T20 World Cup.

Mahmud Ullah's team start their campaign on 18 October against Scotland in Group B of Round One, where they have also been drawn against Oman and Papua New Guinea.

The team go into the tournament high on confidence after historic series wins over Australia and New Zealand. 

That is momentum they will be looking to ride to their first ever appearance in the knockout stages of the T20 World Cup, having to date not passed the second stage of the tournament.

Video cwc19 26 Mar 16
Mustafizur Rahman 5-22 for BAN V NZ ICC WT20 2016
Mustafizur Rahman takes 5-22 for Bangladesh against New Zealand in this Match 28 video of the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016

Bangladesh Squad
Mahmud Ullah (Captain), Naim Sheikh, Soumya Sarkar, Litton Kumer Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Shaif Uddin, Shamim Hossain

Reserves: Rubel Hossain, Aminul Islam Biplob

Mahmud's team boasts a mix of experienced campaigners and promising young stars. Alongside the captain, established members Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan and Mushfiqur Rahim will all be looking to lead from the front as seamer Mustafizur Rahman aims to put together another impressive ICC tournament. Rahman took nine wickets at 16.6 at the 2016 T20 World Cup and was the third-highest wicket-taker at the 2019 Cricket World Cup.

It will be the start of a new era in some ways for the Tigers, with veteran opener Tamim Iqbal sitting out the tournament to give the next generation the chance to shine. Tamim was the top run-scorer (295 at 73.75) in the 2016 edition.

In his place, openers Naim Sheikh and Liton Das will both be out to impress. Only 22 years old, Naim is among of group of young stars coming through Bangladeshi cricket, with 21-year-old all-rounders Shamim Hossain and Afif Hossain, and 20-year-old seamer Shoriful Islam all included. Shamim and Shoriful were both part of the Bangladesh team that won the Under-19 Cricket World Cup in early 2020.

More News