Shaheen Afridi's replacement named in Pakistan's Asia Cup squad

Pakistan news

Hit For Six!

Right-arm fast bowler Mohammad Hasnain will replace Shaheen Afridi in Pakistan's 15-member squad for the T20 Asia Cup 2022, which begins on 27 August.

Afridi was ruled out of the upcoming Asia Cup after being advised a 4-6 weeks rest by the medical team following an injury to his right knee ligament. He had copped an injury while fielding during the first Test against Sri Lanka in Galle last month.

Hasnain, 22, has represented Pakistan in eight ODIs and 18 T20Is after making his debut in 2019, and has taken 29 international wickets. He has not played a T20I since December 2021, where he featured in Pakistan's home T20I series against West Indies.

Video cwc19 12 Aug 22
'Everything goes up a notch': Ponting on India-Pakistan rivalry | The ICC Review

The right-armer is currently in the UK playing for Oval Invincibles in The Hundred.

"Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed and Usman Qadir will leave for Dubai in the wee hours of Tuesday," the PCB stated in a release. "They will replace Abdullah Shafique, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Haris, Salman Ali Agha and Zahid Mehmood, who were part of the 16-member ODI squad against the Netherlands."

Video cwc19 24 Jan 22
The Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the ICC Player of the Year: Shaheen Afridi

Pakistan will face India in their Asia Cup opener on 28 August in Dubai, while their second match will be against the Asia Cup Qualifier winner on 2 September. The Super Four games will be played between 3 and 9 September, with the final being played on 11 September.

Pakistan squad: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan (vc) Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir

T20WC 2022 Fixtures

Click here to see the full fixtures for the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022.

More News