Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Nicole Bolton Australia women

Australia names T20I squad for Women's Ashes

Women's Ashes news

Bolton, McGrath rested while Aley, Kimmince and Strano figure in 13-member squad for three-match series against England

Australia added fresh faces for the Twenty20 International segment of the Women’s Ashes with the inclusion of Sarah Aley, Delissa Kimmince and Molly Strano. 

The selection panel named a 13-member squad on Tuesday for the three-match series, starting on November 17. Australia currently leads the multi-format series 6-4 after winning the One-Day International series 2-1 and picking up two points from the drawn one-off Test. The host needs one point to secure the Ashes, while England needs to win all three T20Is to regain the coveted trophy.

Rachael Haynes’s side rested Nicole Bolton and Tahlia McGrath, while Lauren Cheatle, the pacer, was not available for selection due to a back injury.  

“It’s been a long tour for some of the younger players, so the selectors have opted to add some fresh legs to the side, all of which have previous experience at international level,” said Shawn Flegler, the national selector.  

On the inclusions, Flegler said: “It’s great to see Delissa back in the side, having last played for Australia in 2014, she’s a very handy bowler who will also add extra depth to the middle order.

“Molly was impressive with her offspin during Australia’s T20 series against New Zealand earlier this year, while Sarah will be hoping to make her T20 debut after being handed her one-day cap during the 50-over World Cup this year.”

The first match will be played at the North Sydney Oval before the action shifts to Canberra for the final two games.

Squad: Sarah Aley, Alex Blackwell, Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes (capt), Alyssa Healy (wk), Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Molly Strano, Elyse Villani, Amanda-Jade Wellington.

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!