Jiveshan Pillay was contentiously given out obstructing the field during South Africa's clash against West Indies.
South Africa U19s coach Lawrence Mahatlane has said that he and his team have no qualms with the decision of West Indies captain Emmanuel Stewart to appeal or the umpires to give Jiveshan Pillay out obstructing the field during the Group A clash at Tauranga.
It's a moment that has generated plenty of discussion and debate, but it all started very innocuously. South African opener Jiveshan Pillay inside-edged onto his pad, watched the ball roll towards his stumps, before picking it up after it became motionless and lobbing it to West Indian keeper and captain Emmanuel Stewart.
It was at this point however that the controversy occurred, the West Indies skipper appealing for an 'obstructing the field' decision. The umpires conferred and Jiveshan Pillay was given out.
Within the letter of the law, the decision reached seems to be the correct one; law 37.4 stats "Either batsman is out Obstructing the field if, at any time while the ball is in play and,without the consent of a fielder, he uses the bat or any part of his person to return the ball to any fielder."
For South African coach Lawrence Mahatlane, that is the beginning and end of the matter. "Our take is very simple," he said after the end of the innings. "We play to the laws of the game, and it's part of the laws. It's happened so hopefully we'll learn for a long time from it."
Personalise your homepage with an ICC account
News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!