Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Australia won the 2010 ICC U19 CWC

U19 CWC: Stars from 2010

ICC U19 CWC, feature

Mitch Marsh captained an Australian side featuring several familiar names to victory.

Kenya were earmarked to host the 2010 edition of the U19 CWC, but it was decided six months before the tournament to switch it to New Zealand when deadlines looked unachievable. The final was a repeat of the first event in 1988, with Australia defeating Pakistan to claim their third crown.

In a side that also contained leggie Adam Zampa, Mitch Marsh led the Aussies to glory, racking up 201 runs in the tournament, at an average of 33.50. However, it was his teammate Josh Hazelwood, having debuted the preceding campaign, who orchestrated their final victory with a Player of the Match 4/30.

Despite finishing eighth, England had some rough diamonds in their ranks. Current Test captain Joe Root opened the batting during the tournament and scored 138 at an average of 27.60, supported by James Vince and occasional opener Jos Buttler, who managed 91 runs at 30.33. Ben Stokes overshadowed them all, however, knocking 166 runs – including a brutal century – and taking seven wickets.

Shane Dowrich and Kraigg Brathwaite both went on to represent West Indies at senior level
Shane Dowrich and Kraigg Brathwaite both went on to represent West Indies at senior level

India boasted KL Rahul and Jaydev Unadkat in their ranks, so in fact this edition of the U19 CWC starred the two players, in Stokes and Unadkat, who sold for most at the 2018 IPL auction. 

Pakistan had their share of stars too, including Ahmed Shehzad and the man currently rated the No.1 in the MRF Tyres ICC T20I Batting Rankings, Babar Azam. He sparkled on the big stage, scoring 289 runs at 59.60. 

West Indies' duo of Jason Holder and Kraigg Brathwaite also impressed, with the former leading his side's bowling attack with 12 wickets, while the latter topped the side's scoring with a thumping 335 runs. 

It was South Africa’s Dominic Hendricks, however, who was named Player of the Tournament with 395 runs, though he never went on to represent his nation. Papua New Guinea’s Raymond Haoda led the wickets table with 15 scalps, but like Hendricks, didn’t further his career at senior level.


More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!