Australia lifting the ICC Cricket World Cup trophy in 2015.
Cricket World Cup

On this day: Australia win ICC CWC 2015

On this day

Hit For Six!

Three years ago, Australia were crowned champions of the world after beating New Zealand in the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup final.

On this day in 2015, Australia created yet more history, becoming the first men’s team to win the ICC Cricket World Cup on five occasions.

Facing Trans-Tasman rivals New Zealand in front of an Australian record crowd of over 93,000 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Australia rattled through the Kiwis’ line-up with the ball before knocking off the target with 16.5 overs remaining to lift the World Cup for a record fifth time.

Video cwc19 29 Mar 15
Michael Clarke, 74 vs New Zealand
Michael Clarke, 74 vs New Zealand

It was also fitting, that on his final ever ODI appearance, Australian captain Michael Clarke top-scored for his side, hitting 74 from 72 balls – including 10 fours and a six – before receiving a standing ovation from all sides of the MCG, as he led his side to victory.

Earlier in the day, having won the toss and elected to bat, New Zealand got off to a disastrous start when captain Brendon McCullum – playing his last CWC game – departed for a duck in the first over.

Ross Taylor (40) and Grant Elliott (83) between them scored over 67 per cent of New Zealand’s runs, as they were bowled out for 183 in 45 overs.

Video cwc19 28 Apr 21
Faulkner stars in Cricket World Cup 2015 final
Player of the Match – James Faulkner

Star of the show with the ball for Australia was James Faulkner, who took 3/36 from nine overs as he claimed the Player of the Match award given the importance of his three scalps: Taylor, Corey Anderson and Elliott. Mitchell Johnson, who was also making his final ODI appearance, ensured he went out with a bang, finishing with similar figures of 3/30 off nine.

Australia’s innings started in almost identical fashion to New Zealand’s, as they lost Aaron Finch for a duck in the second over.

Video cwc19 29 Mar 15
Top Moments – AUS vs NZ
Top Moments – AUS vs NZ

However, that turned out to be the last of their worries, as 45 from David Warner, 56 not out from Steve Smith and Clarke’s 74 helped them reach their target for the loss of just three wickets in front of a jubilant home crowd in Melbourne.

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 ticket ballot opens on 1 May 2018. You can get priority access by registering here.

More News