Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Zimbabwe cricket

Zimbabwe Cricket announce T20I tri-series against Australia, Pakistan

Zimbabwe news

Pakistan will stay back after the tri-series in July for a five-match ODI series.

Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC), on Tuesday, 10 April, announced a triangular Twenty20 International series in July against Australia and Pakistan in Harare, and a five-match one-day international series against Pakistan in Bulawayo thereafter.

The tri-series will commence on 1 July, with the home side taking on Pakistan. Australia start their campaign the following day against Pakistan. Each team will face each other twice before the top two sides clash in the final on 8 July. All matches will be played at the Harare Sports Club.

The ODI series will start on 13 July at the Queens Sports Club, which will host the subsequent four matches as well, including the fifth and final ODI on 22 July.

“Following months of negotiations, we are pleased to confirm we will be hosting a T20I triangular series involving Australia and Pakistan, followed by an ODI series against Pakistan,” said Faisal Hasnain, the ZC managing director.

“Playing two of the game’s biggest teams will provide us with a very welcome litmus test as we forge ahead with our plans to develop a stronger Zimbabwe side capable of consistently competing and winning against the best.”

Pakistan will stay back for a five-match ODI series
Pakistan will stay back for a five-match ODI series

The last time Pakistan visited Zimbabwe was back in 2015, when they won the three-match ODI series 2-1. Australia last travelled to Zimbabwe in August 2014.

On 1 April, in reaction to Zimbabwe’s failure to qualify for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, ZC terminated the contracts of 13 technical staffers of the senior national team, the ‘A’ team and the Under-19 team, including Heath Streak and Lance Klusener, as well as that of Tatenda Taibu, the national team selection panel convener.

ZC went on to state that an interim selection panel would be appointed to take care of the matches against Pakistan and Australia, following which their performance will be reviewed.

Tri-series schedule:



1 July 2018

Zimbabwe vs Pakistan

2 July 2018

Pakistan vs Australia

3 July 2018

Australia vs Zimbabwe

4 July 2018

Zimbabwe vs Pakistan

5 July 2018

Pakistan vs Australia

6 July 2018

Australia vs Zimbabwe

8 July 2018


Zimbabwe v Pakistan ODI schedule



13 July 2018

First ODI

16 July 2018

Second ODI

18 July 2018

Third ODI

20 July 2018

Fourth ODI

22 July 2018

Fifth ODI


More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!