Defending champions England name T20 World Cup squad

Winner of the 2022 edition England named their squad for ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024 on Tuesday, 30 April.

Jofra Archer has been included in England’s squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, marking his return to international cricket for the first time in more than a year.

His last appearance for England dates back to March 2023, and since then, he has been on the road to recovery from an elbow injury that sidelined him for more than 12 months.

The path back hasn't been easy for Archer – since 2021, he has encountered multiple obstacles, including stress fractures, persistent elbow problems and even surgery due to a freak fish tank accident.

CWC19: Eng v SA – Jofra Archer bowling highlights

Despite his recent absence from the England line-up, experienced all-rounder Chris Jordan also secured his spot in the squad, his last international appearance dating back to September 2023.

Among the batters, Jos Buttler will lead the defending champions with Will Jacks, Phil Salt and Jonny Bairstow among the top-order contenders. Ben Duckett will lend some left-handed diversity to the squad along with veteran all-rounder Moeen Ali.

Harry Brook, Liam Livingstone and Sam Curran will provide the lower-order firepower to the team while Adil Rashid will lead the spin attack flanked by Tom Hartley.

England squad: Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonathan Bairstow, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Ben Duckett, Tom Hartley, Will Jacks, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Reece Topley, Mark Wood

Sam Curran is named Player of the Final after three-for | Highlights | T20WC 2022

Sam Curran is named the Player of the Final after his 3/12 helped England secure the T20 World Cup title.

The same squad has been selected for the four-match T20I series against Pakistan, which will commence on 22 May. All the players who are currently part of the Indian Premier League will return in time for the T20I series against Babar Azam's men.

England will fly to the Caribbean on 31 May ahead of their first game against Scotland in Barbados on 4 June. They are drawn in Group B at the T20 World Cup alongside Australia, Namibia, Scotland and Oman.

All teams are allowed to make changes to their squad until 25 May, after which any alteration will require approval from ICC's Event Technical Committee.

‘Out of this World’ by Sean Paul and Kes: The official ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 anthem

‘Out of this World’ by Sean Paul and Kes: The official ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 anthem

ICC Men's T20 World Cup, 2024News