Former Bangladesh captain left out of central contract list

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced their central contract list for the year 2024 on Monday, 12 February.

Veteran Bangladesh batter Tamim Iqbal was one of the biggest omissions in BCB’s central contract list for 2024.

It was a tumultuous 2023 for Tamim, who in the run-in to the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 announced his retirement, reversed his decision within 24 hours, and later stepped down from the captaincy two months before the prestigious event.

Apart from Tamim Iqbal, Ebadot Hossain, Afif Hossain, and Mosaddek Hossain too miss out on a central contract.

Najmul Hossain Shanto's first T20I half-century rescues Bangladesh | Highlights | T20WC 2022

Highlights of Najmul Hossain Shanto of Bangladesh during the ICC Men's T20 World Cup match between Bangladesh and Zimbabwe | ICC Men's T20WC 22

The newly-appointed captain, Najmul Hossain Shanto, received an all-format deal, along with Shoriful Islam.

Towhid Hridoy, Tanzim Hasan, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Naeem Hasan and Nurul Hasan are among the fresh faces on the list.

Bangladesh team applauds the century scored by Towhid Hridoy against Canada

2024 Bangladesh central contracts

All formats: Litton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mehidy Hassan Miraz, Najmul Hossain Shanto and Shoriful Islam

Tests and ODIs: Mushfiqur Rahim

ODIs and T20Is: Taskin Ahmed, Towhid Hridoy, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud

Only Tests: Mominul Hoque, Taijul Islam, Zakir Hasan, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Khaled Ahmed, Naeem Hasan

Only ODIs: Mahmudullah, Tanzim Hasan

Only T20Is: Nasum Ahmed, Mahedi Hasan, Nurul Hasan