Anshuman Rath

Hong Kong turn new leaf ahead of home T20I series

Anshuman Rath

Formerly with Sri Lanka and Kent across high performance and coaching roles, Simon Willis takes the reins just days after meeting the playing group, as his new side host Bahrain, Kuwait and Malaysia from Wednesday.

Willis' first assignment will be supported by the return of Anshuman Rath, back in Hong Kong colours for the first time since 2019. The 25-year-old left-hander had previously declared himself unavailable to the team, moving to India to pursue other cricket opportunities.

Regarded as one of the most technically-gifted players in the Associate world when last featuring for the men in red and black, Rath bolsters the team's top order, already including skipper Nizakat Khan, Babar Hayat and Kinchit Shah. The hosts are the highest-ranked team in the competition (21st), though face stiff competition from the other three sides, all placed between 25th to 28th.

The quadrangular series will also provide a good gauge for the four sides ahead of T20 World Cup qualifying for the 2024 edition in USA and the West Indies.

Hong Kong and Bahrain already boast a spot at the regional final for qualifying, while Kuwait and Malaysia will turn out in Sub-Regional Qualifiers A and B respectively. Two teams will qualify for T20 World Cup 2024 from the Asia region come the end of qualifying, though dates for Sub-Regional and Regional play are yet to be finalised.

The T20 quadrangular series is live and FREE on, and available via FanCode in India.

WCL 2: PNG v HK - Hong Kong's Anshuman Rath hits 85 from 98

It is free to Sign Up to

You can then watch the T20 series between hosts Hong Kong, Bahrain, Kuwait and Malaysia live and FREE on in all regions (other than India) on:

* website* mobile apps (available in the App Store and Google Play)
* Samsung TV and LG TV apps

Kuwait v Malaysia: 8 March
Hong Kong v Bahrain: 8 March
Bahrain v Malaysia: 9 March
Hong Kong v Kuwait: 9 March
Bahrain v Kuwait: 11 March
Hong Kong v Malaysia: 11 March
3rd place playoff: 12 March
Final: 12 March

Hong Kong, ChinaMen's News