Pakistan appoints Shaheen’s deputy ahead of New Zealand T20Is

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) have named wicket-keeper batter Mohammad Rizwan as the vice-captain of their T20I side.

Rizwan’s appointment is yet another change in Pakistan's leadership setup after the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023. Babar Azam had given up his all-format captaincy after their exit in the group stage. Shan Masood was then named as the Test skipper, while Shaheen Afridi was appointed as the T20I captain.

Rizwan replaces all-rounder Shadab Khan in the role of the T20I vice-captain. Shadab injured his ankle last month during Pakistan’s domestic season, and is out of the New Zealand tour.

ICC Men's T20I Player of the Year 2021: Mohammad Rizwan

Rizwan has a stellar average of 49 in the format, with 2797 runs and a century along with 25 fifties to his name. This makes him Pakistan’s second-highest run-getter in T20Is. As a keeper, he has 43 catches and 11 stumpings in the format.

Rizwan expressed happiness over his appointment.

“It is an honour to be named as the vice-captain of Pakistan Men's T20I side. I am thankful to the PCB for entrusting me with this responsibility.

“I am looking forward to working closely with the captain, coaching staff, and my teammates to contribute to the team's success.”

The keeper has previous leadership experience with the Men in Green, albeit it was in the Test format, during the nation’s tour of New Zealand in 2020/21. Rizwan also leads the T20 side, Multan Sultans, in the Pakistan Super League (PSL).

Pakistan will feature in a five-game T20I series against New Zealand from 12 to 21 January.

T20I squad: Shaheen Shah Afridi (c), Aamer Jamal, Abbas Afridi, Azam Khan (wk), Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Haseebullah (wk), Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (vc, wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Sahibzada Farhan, Saim Ayub, Usama Mir, Zaman Khan

Tour Itinerary

1st T20I – January 12, Eden Park, Auckland

2nd T20I – January 14, Seddon Park, Hamilton

3rd T20I – January 17, University Oval, Dunedin

4th T20I – January 19, Hagley Oval, Christchurch

5th T20I – January 21, Hagley Oval, Christchurch