Sri Lanka name T20I squad for Afghanistan series

Wanindu Hasaranga will lead a strong 16-member squad in the three-match T20I series against Afghanistan, which begins later this week.

Sri Lanka will be without injured seamer Dushmantha Chameera for the three T20Is against Afghanistan with Binura Fernando named as his replacement. 

Chameera had walked off midway through the first ODI against Afghanistan and as a result missed the second ODI of the series. The quadriceps injury, unrelated to his previous ones, will see him miss the T20Is as well.

The squad retains all players from the series against Zimbabwe last month. Angelo Mathews, who made a return to the T20I squad after three years to win the Player of the Series against Zimbabwe, continues to be a part of the setup.

Best of Wanindu Hasaranga so far | T20WC 2022

The best of Sri Lanka all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga so far at the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022.

Hasaranga will lead the side with Charith Asalanka serving as deputy. The squad has plenty of all-rounders including Dhananjaya de Silva, Mathews, former skipper Dasun Shanaka, Hasaranga and Kamindu Mendis.

Hasaranga will lead the spin attack that also has Maheesh Theekshana and Akila Dananjaya.

Pathum Nissanka, fresh off making the highest score for Sri Lanka in ODIs, is joined by the likes of Kusal Mendis, Asalanka, Mathews and Sadeera Samarawickrama in the batting group.

The series begins on 17 February in Dambulla with subsequent games at the same venue on 19 and 21 February.

Sri Lanka T20I squad: Wanindu Hasaranga (C), Charith Asalanka (VC), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya De Silva, Kusal Perera, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Kamindu Mendis, Maheesh Theekshana, Akila Dananjaya, Matheesha Pathirana, Dilshan Madushanka, Nuwan Thushara, Binura Fernando

NewsMen's News