• The 52-year-old from Pakistan will achieve the mark on home soil when he officiates in his 210th ODI in Rawalpindi on Sunday
  • Aleem already holds the record in Tests and has officiated in a record 387 international matches

The 52-year-old, who played first-class cricket in Pakistan for over a decade as an all-rounder before taking up umpiring, had also made his ODI debut in Pakistan, when he stood in a match against Sri Lanka in his hometown of Gujranwala in February 2000.

Last year, Aleem passed his idol Steve Bucknor to the top of the Test umpires’ list. He holds the record of officiating in 132 Test matches and is second in the list of T20Is, only behind compatriot Ahsan Raza, with 46 T20Is. Aleem has officiated in 387 international matches so far, the most by any umpire.

Aleem Dar: "It is a matter of great honour for me to be on the top of the list of both Tests and ODIs for umpires.

"When I had started out in the profession, I had never imagined I would get this far. I can only say that I have enjoyed every moment on the field and learning has been an ongoing process all this while.

"I thank my family for standing by me over the years and am grateful to the International Cricket Council and the Pakistan Cricket Board for backing me and providing me with all the opportunities. I am also thankful to all my colleague match officials for their help and support."

Adrian Griffith, ICC Senior Manager Umpires and Referees: "Aleem has been a very consistent umpire over the years, and this is reflected in his 16 years on the Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Umpires.

"We congratulate Aleem on the milestone, and wish him all the best for the upcoming game and series. We are sure many aspiring match officials look up to Aleem, and he will continue to inspire the next generation."

The media release on Aleem Dar setting the record for Tests is available here.

About the ICC Women's World Cup 2017

Womens World Cup 4 Captains

The ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 will be held in England and Wales from 24 June to 23 July, in which the top eight teams - defending champion Australia, host England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies will participate.

The sides will play each other in a round-robin format with the semifinals scheduled to be played in Bristol (18 July) and Derby (20 July),  and the final in Lord’s on 23 July.

  • For a list of official broadcasters, please click here
  • For the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 Media Accreditation Terms and Conditions (Non-Rights Holders), please click here.
  • For the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 Media Accreditation Terms and Conditions (Rights Holders), please click here.
  • For the ICC Women’s World Cup General Accreditation Terms and Conditions, please click here.
  • To read FAQs on media accreditation for the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 and ICC Women’s World 2017, please click here.

Live Cricket

ICC on Social