ICC Live

CT 2017 - Buy Tickets - 300x250


What are your thoughts on this article?

India moves into second position

Every Test counts as teams eye place in the inaugural ICC World Test Championship 2017; Download the Official Reliance ICC Rankings App via www.icc-cricket.com/mobile

India moves into second position - Cricket News
Indian cricketer Sachin Tendulkar bowed out of his Test career with India moving into second position.
India has gained a place on the Reliance ICC Test Team Rankings table after winning the two-Test series against the West Indies 2-0.

India had started the series in third position and a 2-0 win has put it in second position. This sets up an interesting two-Test series between number-one ranked South Africa and India to be played next month in Johannesburg and Durban.

India had needed to win the series to move up the Reliance ICC Test Team Rankings table. India’s innings and 126 runs win in the second and final Test has helped it gain three ratings points to end at 119 ratings points, three ratings points ahead of England, which faces fifth-ranked Australia in the five-Test series in Brisbane from 21 November.

In contrast West Indies has retained its pre-series sixth-rank but has dropped four ratings points to finish at 95. West Indies is now six ratings points behind fifth-ranked Australia and seven behind fourth-ranked Pakistan.

The Test Rankings table, unlike the ODI Rankings table, is updated only after the conclusion of the series. To find out exactly how forthcoming Test series will affect the Rankings table, please click  here.

About ICC World Test Championship

The inaugural ICC World Test Championship (ICC WTC) will be hosted by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) in 2017.

The qualification pathway for the ICC World Test Championship is through the Reliance ICC Test Team Rankings, with the qualifying period being from 1 May 2013 to 31 December 2016.

The top four teams at the conclusion of the qualification period will qualify for the event in 2017.  The results of any Test series ending after 1 May 2013, and the results of any Test series starting before 31 December 2016, will be included in the period that determine qualification for the ICC WTC.

Reliance ICC Test Team Rankings table (as on 16 November)
Rank   (+/-)     Team                          Rating (+/-)

1                      South Africa               131 (-4)

2         (+1)       India                          119 (+3)     

3          (-1)       England                      116

4                       Pakistan                      102

5                      Australia                      101     

6         (-)       West Indies                    95   (-4)

7                      Sri Lanka                      88 

8                      New Zealand               75   

9                      Zimbabwe                    34

10                    Bangladesh                  18   

(Developed by David Kendix)

Similar Articles