ICC Live

CT 2017 - Buy Tickets - 300x250


What are your thoughts on this article?

Chandimal, Karunaratne hold firm for Sri Lanka

Visiting side reaches 197 for 4, trailing by 234 runs, on day two after bowling out New Zealand for 431

Chandimal, Karunaratne hold firm for Sri Lanka - Cricket News
Dinesh Chandimal finished day two unbeaten on 83.
Dinesh Chandimal and Dimuth Karunaratne spearheaded Sri Lanka's fightback on the second day of the first Test against New Zealand in Dunedin on Friday (December 11). 

At stumps, Sri Lanka was 197 for 4 with Chandimal on 83 not out and Kithuruwan Vithanage on 10 not out.

After the New Zealand innings wrapped up early on Friday for 431, the pair came together with Sri Lanka at 29 for 2 after Kusal Mendis and Udara Jayasundera fell early.

Karunaratne and Chandimal put on 122 together, negotiating their way to 100 in the 45th over, just before tea. 

The middle session produced only 65 runs, but the pair used that period to consolidate. 

As the pitch flattened in the final session, Sri Lanka upped the tempo, scoring 48 runs in 13 overs before Mitchell Santner, only in his second Test, made a breakthrough, dismissing Karunaratne for 84. 

Karunaratne played 198 balls before he slashed at a drifting delivery and gave BJ Watling, the wicket-keeper, his third catch. 

Angelo Mathews, Sri Lanka's captain, made 2 before he added to Watling's collection and gave Tim Southee a 27th birthday present with the finest of edges to a delivery heading down leg side, leaving Sri Lanka on 156 for 4.

Earlier, Kusal, in his second Test, was the first to fall when he edged Boult on eight to provide Watling with his 100th Test dismissal. Jayasundera, on debut, perished for 1.

At the start of the day, New Zealand added a further 22 runs to its overnight score 409 for 8. Doug Bracewell reached 47, his highest Test score, before he was the last wicket to fall being trapped lbw by Nuwan Pradeep, Sri Lanka's most successful bowler with four wickets.

Please click here to review the match in full in the ICC Match Centre.

Similar Articles