ICC Live

CT 2017 - Buy Tickets - 300x250


What are your thoughts on this article?

Netherlands crowned Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Division 2 champions

Michael Rippon named as man of the match; Nepal’s Paras Khadka wins player of the tournament award

Netherlands crowned Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Division 2 champions - Cricket News
Netherlands players celebrate after winning the ICC WCL Division 2.
Michael Rippon named as man of the match; Nepal’s Paras Khadka wins player of the tournament award
Netherlands put in a strong all-round performance to defeat host Namibia by eight wickets in the final of Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Division 2 in front of a big crowd in Windhoek, Namibia, on Saturday.
Dutchman Michael Rippon was the star of his side’s victory when he returned figures of 10-1-37-5, which spun Namibia out for 212 in 49.2 overs. In turn, half-centuries by Peter Borren, Ben Cooper and Stephan Myburgh ensured that the visitors achieved victory without any hiccups in 41 overs with eight wickets to spare.
Netherlands and Namibia, irrespective of the final result, have qualified for the 50-over Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Championship and the four-day first-class ICC Intercontinental Cup. Canada and Uganda will now play in the Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Division 3.
Reflecting on his side’s victory, Peter Borren said: “It was a very professional performance all round, with the ball in particular, but finally also with the bat which we have struggled with all tournament.
“This week has been very stressful the past three games we have shown how we can play and it is great relief to make it into the top two positions and also to win the trophy,” said Borren.
Namibia captain Nicolaas Scholtz, reflecting on the match said: “Merwe Erasmus and Craig Williams batted really well, but then we lost a cluster of wickets and we never really got going from there and it made a big difference to our final total.
“To win four and out of six in the tournament is a great achievement for us and we batted well throughout, we have three batsman in the top four and that is a real positive we will take away from the tournament, ” said Scholtz.
As the hosts Namibia wanted to put in a good performance for the crowds that had travelled to the final at Wanderers on the last day of competition at the Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Division 2 and were put into bat by the Netherlands.
Stephen Baard (13) and Gerrie Synman (30) opened the batting well, before 19-year-old Merwe Erasmus chipped in with 25, while adding 65 runs for the second wicket with Synman.
However, all-rounder Craig Williams was the star batter of the day for the Namibians scoring 54 runs from 56 balls with six fours and pushing the final total up as wickets fell around him.
Rippon, Netherlands’ slow left-arm chinaman bowler, was in superb form and mesmerised the Namibia batsmen during his 10-over spell. It was Rippon’s bowling in the middle that didn’t allow Namibia to take-off its innings, which eventually folded at 212 all out in 49.2 overs.
Rippon for his five for 37 was later adjudged man of the match.
The Dutch came out firing with Rahil Ahmed and 30-year-old Stephan Myburg putting on 93 before the first wicket fell. Ahmed scored 41 runs from 46 balls including two fours and one six and Stephan Myburgh scored 50 runs in 58 balls with five fours and one six.
Ben Cooper and captain Peter Borren put on a 116 runs for the unbroken third-wicket partnership, to take the Dutch to victory. Cooper scored 51 not out from 67 balls with five fours and Borren scored an undefeated 60 from 76 balls including three fours and two sixes, leading Netherlands to victory by eight wickets with 54 balls remaining.
The player of the tournament was Nepal’s Paras Khadka who scored 185 runs at an average of 30.83 and took six wickets at an average of 22.83.
In the third/fourth position place play-off, Kenya defeated Nepal by fifteen runs, while Uganda defeated Canada by eight wickets in the fifth/sixth position play-off.
Scores in brief:
Final at Wanderers
Namibia 212 all out, 49.5 overs (CG Williams 54, G Synman 30; M Rippon 5-37)
Netherlands 213 for 2, 41 overs (P Borren 60 not out, BN Cooper 51 not out; G Synman 1-45)
Netherlands won by 8 wickets
Player of the Match:  Michael Rippon (Netherlands)
Third/fourth position play-off at United
Kenya 208 for 9, 50 overs (Nelson Odhiambo 48, NK Patel 44, Sompal Kami 3-41)
Nepal 193 all out, 47 overs (B Bhandari 73, G Malla 48; E Otieno 4-45)
Kenya won by 15 runs
Player of the Match: NK Patel (Kenya)
Fifth/sixth position play-off at Wanderers Affies
Canada 140 all out, 46 overs (Hamza Tariq 32, AS Hansra 31; Henry Ssenyondo 3-21, Jonathan Sebanja 3-26)
Uganda 144 for two, 25.2 overs (PM Selowa 48 not out, AL Ndhlovu 40 not out)
Uganda won by 8 wickets
Player of the Match:  Henry Ssenyondo (Uganda)

Similar Articles