Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Dananjaya reaches career-best 21st position in ODI rankings

Akila Dananjaya has considerably troubled South Africa throughout their tour
Sri Lankan and South African players move up after their latest ODI series, with Nepal and Netherlands also featuring in the latest update.

• Mathews and Duminy also make important gains after five-match series between Sri Lanka and South Africa

• Netherlands’ Klaassen and Nepal’s Lamichhane notable entrants in latest men’s ODI rankings update

Sri Lanka spinner Akila Dananjaya has made prominent gains in the MRF Tyres ICC ODI Player Rankings, after finishing a five-match home series against South Africa in style on Sunday.

The 24-year-old’s match-winning haul of six for 29 in the final match in Colombo helped Sri Lanka reduce the gap against their higher ranked opposition to 3-2, while also lifting him 22 places to a career-best 21st position after finishing with 14 wickets in the series. He is also now on a career-high 600 rating points.

Dananjaya’s team-mate Thisara Perera (up four places to 68th) is another one to move up the rankings for bowlers while captain Angelo Mathews and wicketkeeper-batsman Niroshan Dickwella have made noteworthy gains among batsmen.

With Nepal gaining ODI status, Sandeep Lamichhane is among those making an entry into the rankings
With Nepal gaining ODI status, Sandeep Lamichhane is among those making an entry into the rankings

Mathews, the leading scorer in the series with 235 runs and a highest of 97 not out in the last match, has gained two slots to reach 25th position while Dickwella has moved up four places to grab 35th position. Kusal Perera (up 16 places to 66th) has gained in the latest update, which also takes into account the drawn two-match series between the Netherlands and Nepal.

For South Africa, player of the series Jean-Paul Duminy’s 227 runs at a strike-rate of 135.9 have seen him gain 11 slots to reach joint-40th position among batsmen even as regular captain Faf du Plessis has dropped out of the top 10 after missing the last two matches of the series.

South Africa fast bowler Lungi Ngidi has gained 57 places to reach 88th position after finishing with 10 wickets while spinner Tabraiz Shamsi’s six wickets in the series have lifted him 47 places to 100th position.

Meanwhile, left-arm fast bowler Fred Klaassen of the Netherlands has made his way to 203rd position with figures of three for 38 and three for 30 in the two home matches against Nepal while leg-spinner Sandeep Lamichhane of Nepal finds himself in 217th position after finishing with four wickets.

Sompal Kami (229th) and Gyanendra Malla (236th) are the leading batsmen for Nepal after notching a half-century each in the Amstelveen series while Daniel ter Braak (304th) is the highest-ranked batsman for the Netherlands.

In the MRF Tyres ICC ODI Team Rankings, South Africa have slipped to fourth position despite the series win over Sri Lanka owing to the large difference in points between the two sides. South Africa have gone down from 113 to 110 points while eighth-ranked Sri Lanka have gained three points and moved to 80 points in the list led by England with 127 points.

The ODI team rankings, unlike the Test rankings, are updated after each match.

MRF Tyres ICC ODI Team Rankings (as on 13 August, after the conclusion of the Sri Lanka v South Africa series):

3New Zealand112
4South Africa110 (-3)
8Sri Lanka80 (+3)
9West Indies69


*Nepal and the Netherlands will qualify for a full ranking after playing two more matches each

(Developed by David Kendix)

MRF Tyres ICC ODI Player Rankings (as on 13 August, after the conclusion of the Sri Lanka v South Africa and Netherlands v Nepal series):

BATSMEN (Top 20)

Rank(+/-)PlayerTeamPointsAvgeHighest rating
1( - )Virat KohliInd911!58.2911 v Eng at Headingley 2018
2( - )Babar AzamPak82554.8846 v NZ at Wellington 2018
3( - )Joe RootEng81851.61819 v Aus at Brisbane 2018
4( - )Rohit SharmaInd80644.98825 v SL at Mohali 2017
5( - )David WarnerAus80343.43880 v Pak at Adelaide 2017
6( - )Ross TaylorNZ78546.28789 v Eng at Dunedin 2018
7( - )Quinton de KockSA78145.25808 v Ban at East London 2017
8(+1)Kane WilliamsonNZ77846.87798 v SA at Centurion 2015
9(+1)Shikhar DhawanInd77045.72794 v SA at Melbourne 2015
10(+1)Jonny BairstowEng76950.3777 v Aus at Durham 2018
11-3Faf du PlessisSA76644.4802 v Ind at Durban 2018
12(+1)Tamim IqbalBan737!36.23737 v Win at St Kitts 2018
13(+1)Martin GuptillNZ73142.99789 v SA at Hamilton 2017
14-2Hashim AmlaSA72949.65901 v Eng at Trent Bridge 2012
15( - )MS DhoniInd71451.25836 v Aus at Delhi 2009
16( - )Fakhar ZamanPak713*!76.07713 v Zim at Bulawayo 2018
17( - )Aaron FinchAus70638.19744 v Eng at Melbourne 2015
18( - )Jos ButtlerEng70140.35723 v Ban at Mirpur 2016
19( - )Steve SmithAus67541.84752 v Pak at Sydney 2017
20=( - )Travis HeadAus670*!37670 v Eng at Old Trafford 2018
 ( - )Jason RoyEng67039.06680 v Aus at Durham 2018


BOWLERS (Top 20)

Rank(+/-)PlayerTeamPointsAvgeEcoHighest rating
1( - )Jasprit BumrahInd775*22.54.64787 v SA at Centurion 2018
2( - )Rashid KhanAfg763*14.43.96787 v Zim at Sharjah 2018
3( - )Hasan AliPak742*20.885.21766 v NZ at Wellington 2018
4( - )Trent BoultNZ69924.635.09766 v Ind at Delhi 2016
5( - )Josh HazlewoodAus69624.274.72733 v Eng at Adelaide 2018
6( - )Kuldeep YadavInd684*19.354.82698 v Eng at Lord's 2018
7(+1)Adil RashidEng681 !30.85.52681 v Ind at Headingley 2018
8(+1)Kagiso RabadaSA67627.625.09724 v Eng at Lord's 2017
9=-2Imran TahirSA66624.814.68786 v SL at Johannesburg 2017
 (+1)Y. ChahalInd666*23.864.72668 v Eng at Lord's 2018
11( - )Chris WoakesEng64330.775.5673 v NZ at Christchurch 2018
12( - )Mitchell StarcAus64220.954.93783 v NZ at Melbourne 2015
13( - )Mitchell SantnerNZ63233.914.9663 v Eng at Hamilton 2018
14( - )Moeen AliEng62145.085.09629 v Aus at Old Trafford 2018
15( - )Akshar PatelInd615*31.314.43663 v Aus at Nagpur 2017
16( - )Mohammad NabiAfg61131.954.29653 v Zim at Harare 2017
17( - )M. RahmanBan609*20.014.71610 v Win at Guyana 2018
18( - )Pat CumminsAus60728.455.38626 v Eng at Adelaide 2018
19=( - )M. MortazaBan60630.874.78653 v Zim at Mirpur 2009
 ( - )Matt HenryNZ60624.595.57675 v Aus at Hamilton 2016 


ALL-ROUNDERS (top five)

Rank(+/-)PlayerTeamPointsHighest rating
1( - )Shakib Al HasanBan362453 v Zim at Chittagong 2009
2( - )M. NabiAfg323349 v Ire at Greater Noida 2017
3( - )M. HafeezPak322438 v Ind at Kolkata 2013
4( - )Mitchell SantnerNZ317!317 v Eng at Christchurch 2018
5( - )Angelo MathewsSL305427 v Eng at Colombo (RPS) 2014 

More Media Releases

Live Cricket

ICC on Social