Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Raj mandhana

Teams announced for Women’s T20 Challenge

IPL 12, news

Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana and Mithali Raj will captain the three sides in the Women’s T20 Challenge, as the BCCI confirmed the squads for the exhibition matches.

Twelve overseas players from five different countries will take part, split evenly between the three teams. There is a mix of established stars from the world’s dominant teams – the likes of Nat Sciver from England and Stafanie Taylor from West Indies – and up-and-coming players, including seamer Jahanara Alam from Bangladesh.

The rest of the squads are filled by Indian cricketers, again a combination of established internationals and domestic upstarts. India Women head coach WV Raman,  fielding coach Biju George, and and former India captain Mamta Maben will elad the three teams.

WBBL and West Indies star Stafanie Taylor will feature in the Women's T20 Challenge
WBBL and West Indies star Stafanie Taylor will feature in the Women's T20 Challenge

The tournament will be the second year in a row that the BCCI are hosting a women's T20 exhibition series – last year, the Supernovas and the Trailblazers clashed in a one-off encounter at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

This year a third team, Velocity, will join the fray with the teams set to contest four matches during the IPL play-offs.

Supernovas squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Anuja Patil, Arundhati Reddy, Chamari Athapaththu (Sri Lanka), Jemimah Rodrigues, Lea Tahuhu (New Zealand), Mansi Joshi, Natalie Sciver (England), Poonam Yadav, Priya Punia, Radha P Yadav, Sophie Devine (New Zealand), Taniya Bhatia (WK).

Trailblazers squad: Smriti Mandhana (c), Bharti Fulmali, Dayalan Hemlatha, Deepti Sharma, Harleen Deol, Jasia Akhtar, Jhulan Goswami, R Kalpana (WK), Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shakera Selman (West Indies), Sophie Ecclestone (England), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies), Suzie Bates (New Zealand).

Velocity squad: Mithali Raj (c), Amelia Kerr (New Zealand), Danielle Wyatt (England), Devika Vaidya, Ekta Bisht, Hayley Matthews (West Indies), Jahanara Alam (Bangladesh), Komal Zhanzad, Shafali Verma, Shikha Pandey, Sushma Verma (WK), Sushree Dibyadarshini, Veda Krishnamurthy


More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!