Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Bismah Maroof

Maroof, Iqbal lead Pakistan to series-clinching win

Pak v Ban, 2nd WT20I, report

Skipper Bismah Maroof and opener Javeria Khan scored fifties, before Sadia Iqbal struck thrice within the space of two overs to dent Bangladesh's run-chase, as the hosts registered a comfortable 15-run win in the second T20I at Lahore's Gadaffi Stadium on Monday, 28 October.

Pakistan got off to a steady start, after being put in to bat. Openers Javeria and Sidra Ameen put on 35 for the first wicket, before the latter's innings was cut short by Lata Mondal for 19. Maroof then walked in, and added 95 runs from 71 balls for the second wicket with Javeria to set up a strong finish. Javeria hit five fours and a six during her 44-ball 52, while the skipper top-scored with 70, hitting nine fours and a six during her 50-ball unbeaten stay.

Alia Riaz, the all-rounder, struck two boundaries in the penultimate over, before Maroof finished the innings with three consecutive fours to help Pakistan put up 167/3 in the first innings. Jahanara Alam was the pick of the bowlers for Bangladesh, finishing with returns of 2/27 from her four overs.

The visitors lost three quick wickets within the Powerplay and could never keep up with the required run-rate of 8.7, despite Sanjida Islam's resistance, as she top-scored with a 32-ball 45. Her innings was ended by Sadia Iqbal, the left-arm spinner, in the 12th over. Sadia struck twice more in her next over, removing Niger Sultana and Salma Khatun for 21 and 0 respectively.

Fargana Hoque scored 30, while Jahanara smashed an unbeaten 18 off five balls, including two sixes and a four in the finishing stages, but it was all too late as Bangladesh were restricted to 152/7. Iqbal finished with 3/19 from her four overs, while Diana Baig, Anam Amir and Sana Mir bagged a wicket each. Bismah Maroof was adjudged the Player of the Match for her game-defining knock.

The third and final T20I will be played on Wednesday, 30 October, before the two-match ODI series gets underway on Saturday, 4 November, at the same venue.

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!