David Willey

England name 14-man squad for Ireland ODIs

England news

Hit For Six!

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) have named a 14-player squad for their three-match ODI series against Ireland, which marks the start of the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup Super League.

Eoin Morgan will captain the side, with Moeen Ali deputizing as previously announced. Several of England's usual first-choice players – most notably Jos Buttler, Jofra Archer and Joe Root – were unavailable for selection due to their ongoing involvement with the Test series, which prohibits them from joining the ODI squad while maintaining bio-secure protocols.

Left-arm fast bowler Reece Topley is in line to make his first international appearance since 2016, having suffered injury woes since then, which severely limited his playing time. He made a barn-storming return to domestic T20 in 2019 though, picking up 17 wickets in 11 games for Sussex at an average of 17.94.

David Willey, who narrowly missed out on selection for England's ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2019 squad, also returns to the fray. However, he will likely be competing with Topley for a spot in the playing XI.

Sam Billings is another name back in contention – his last ODI appearance was in June 2018 against Australia. He did, however, play in the T20I series against New Zealand last year.

In addition to the main squad, the ECB have named three reserve players who will remain with the squad in Southampton and could be called upon in the event of illness or injury of a main-squad player. The three reserves are seam bowlers Richard Gleeson and Lewis Gregory, and batsman Liam Livingstone.

Squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Joe Denly, Saqib Mahmood, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Reece Topley, James Vince, David Willey.

More News