ICC Women's World Cup 2017 on the go

Get the official ICC Cricket app

Priyanajan, Karunaratne in Sri Lanka’s ODI squad

Duo included in 16-man squad named for first two ODIs against New Zealand

Ashan Priyanjan, the middle-order batsman, and Dimuth Karunaratne, the opener, were both included in a 16-member Sri Lanka squad for the first two One-Day Internationals against New Zealand.

New Zealand will tour Sri Lanka for a three-ODI series, followed by two Twenty20 Internationals from November 10 to 21.

Both Karunaratne and Priyanjan had good domestic performances in 2013. Karunaratne scored 271 runs at 90.33 in a one-day series against New Zealand A in September-October 2013, racking up 120, 81 and 70 in three matches. Priyanajan averaged 44 in the same series.

Sri Lanka's selectors also kept faith in the trio of Rangana Herath, Sachithra Senanayake and Ajantha Mendis, who were all part of the squad’s strong spin contingent.

Among those who couldn’t make it to the squad were Shaminda Eranga, the fast bowler, and Upul Tharanga, the top-order batsman.

Both sides will play two ODIs in Hambantota before going to Dambulla for the final match. The T20Is will be held at Pallekele.

Squad: Angelo Mathews (capt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Perera, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Mahela Jayawardene, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Rangana Herath, Sachithra Senanayake, Ajantha Mendis, Ashan Priyanjan

More News