Rashid Khan

Rashid Khan wins ICC Men’s T20I Player of the Decade

ICC Awards of the Decade

Hit For Six!

Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid Khan has been named as the ICC Men’s T20I Player of the Decade.

The numbers
48 T20Is, wickets 89, economy rate 6.14, bowling average 12.62 *
*Stats from January 1, 2011, to October 7, 2020, the period taken into consideration for the ICC awards

Men’s T20I Player of the Decade award nominees:

•    Aaron Finch (Australia)
•    Chris Gayle (West Indies)
•    Rashid Khan (Afghanistan)
•    Virat Kohli (India)
•    Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)
•    Rohit Sharma (India)
•    Imran Tahir (South Africa)

Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid Khan has been named as the ICC Men’s T20I Player of the Decade. 

He has an incredible record to date in the format, having amassed 89 wickets in 48 games, at an average of just 12.62. With a strike-rate of 12.3, the No.1-ranked men’s T20I bowler boasts a T20 career-best 5/3 against Ireland in 2017. 

What was so impressive about that innings was that Ireland, who were 64/2 from six overs, were well on course for victory, until Khan’s devastating spell saw him pick up five wickets in just ten balls to completely swing the rain-affected game, as Ireland fell 17 runs short of their 11-over target of 111. 

It’s not just his wicket-taking ability that has seen him recognised either. His economy rate is also exceptional, conceding 6.14 runs per over in T20Is. With the bat, in all forms of T20 cricket he’s shown that he can play shots, and along with his match-winning capabilities with the ball, he’s proved he is an asset to his side. 

Still very young, the prolific spinner will no doubt be a player to keep an eye on for the next decade of international cricket.


Sachin Tendulkar on Rashid Khan in 2018: “I always felt Rashid Khan was a good spinner but now I wouldn’t hesitate in saying he is the best spinner in the world in this format. Mind you, he’s got some batting skills as well. Great guy.” 

Greatest hits:
5/3 v Ireland, March 10, 2017
5/27 v Ireland, February 24, 2019
4/12 v Bangladesh, June 5, 2018
4/17 v Ireland, August 22, 2018
4/25 v Ireland, February 23, 2019
3/11 v Zimbabwe, March 12, 2016
3/13 v Bangladesh, June 3, 2018
3/14 v UAE, December 18, 2016

More News