No Mashrafe in Bangladesh preliminary squad for West Indies series

Bangladesh news

Hit For Six!

Mashrafe Mortaza has been omitted from Bangladesh's preliminary squad for the upcoming home series against West Indies.

Mortaza, who is Bangladesh's most capped ODI player, has led the side in 88 ODIs and 28 T20Is. He had stepped down from ODI captaincy during the home series against Zimbabwe in March 2020. 

BCB chief selector Minhajul Abedin said on Monday, 4 January, that Mortaza "wants to continue playing domestic cricket".

"We have full respect for him (Mortaza) as he had given lot for us. It was a difficult decision but we have to accept reality,'' he said.

''We have taken this decision talking with the team management and everyone concerned. It's a big opportunity for the player who will replace him in the team. I have spoken with him (Mortaza) and there is no sort of misunderstanding between us. He said he wants to continue playing domestic cricket," Abedin added. 

"We are beginning this series without Mortaza but we are keeping an eye on the 2023 World Cup. Our team management had given us a plan where the vision is 2023 World Cup and keeping that in mind we decided not to include him."

A notable inclusion in the side is Shakib Al Hasan, who is back in the mix after serving his one-year suspension. He has been named in both the preliminary squads for Tests and ODIs.

Preliminary Squad for ODI Series: Tamim Iqbal Khan, Taskin Ahmed, Shakib Al Hasan, Mohammad Al Amin Hossain, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Md. Shoriful Islam, Mushfiqur Rahim, Hasan Mahmud, Md Mithun, Saif Uddin, Liton Kumer Das, Mustafizur Rahman, Md Mahmud Ullah, Mehidy Hassan Miraz, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Taijul Islam, Musaddek Hossain Saikat, Nasum Ahmed, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Parvez Hossain Emon, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Mahadi Hasan, Naim Sheikh, Rubel Hossain.

Preliminary Squad for Test Series: Momimul Haque Showrab, Taskin Ahmed, Tamim Iqbal Khan, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Shakib Al Hasan, Hasan Mahmud, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mustafizur Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mehidy Hassan Miraz, Md Mithun, Taijul Islam, Liton Kumer Das, Quazi Nurul Hasan Sohan, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Shadman Islam, Mohammed Saif Hasan, Nayeem Hasan, Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury.

More News