Speed demon returns for Australia after T20 World Cup heartbreak

T20 squad

Hit For Six!

Australia has named a 17-player squad to take on New Zealand in the upcoming ODI and T20I tour.

Meg Lanning’s squad is packed full of pace, with Tayla Vlaeminck set to make her long-awaited return to international cricket, and debuts on the cards for teenage quicks Darcie Brown and Hannah Darlington.

Vlaeminck has not played an international match in more than 12 months. The fast-bowler missed Australia’s T20 World Cup win last year after stress fractures were discovered in her right foot on tournament eve.

The 22-year-old returned to competitive action earlier this month for Victoria in Australia’s domestic tournament, the Women’s National Cricket League (WNCL).

Ellyse Perry also returns to the squad after missing Australia’s last series with a hamstring injury.

Ellyse Perry has not played for Australia since last year's T20 World Cup.
Ellyse Perry has not played for Australia since last year's T20 World Cup.

“She has been working her way back to full fitness in the WNCL with Victoria and we’ve already seen some devastating spells from her,” national selector Shawn Flegler said of Vlaeminck’s return.

“Similarly, Ellyse Perry has been making solid progress in her return from a hamstring injury and we look forward to her taking part in this series after not featuring against New Zealand in September and October.”

The tour begins with three T20Is, starting March 28, before finishing with three ODIs, commencing April 4.

The Australians will be out to continue their dominance in both formats. They won their last T20I series against New Zealand in September, and have not lost a T20I series in more than four years.

They have been just as dominant in 50-over cricket, and in New Zealand they will have the chance to set a new record for the most consecutive ODI wins.

Lanning’s team is currently tied with Ricky Ponting’s 2003 side for the most consecutive victories. Ponting's outfit won 21 consecutive ODIs.

Squad: Meg Lanning (c), Rachael Haynes, Darcie Brown, Nicola Carey, Hannah Darlington, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Tahlia McGrath, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Belinda Vakarewa, Tayla Vlaeminck, Georgia Wareham

More News