Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

South Africa
World Test Championship

Olivier returns as South Africa name squad for India series

South Africa news

Hit For Six!

South Africa have named their squad for their three-match ICC World Test Championship series against India, starting 26 December.

Duanne Olivier makes a return to the side, having last played a Test against Sri Lanka in 2019. The uncapped Glenton Stuurman and Prenelan Subrayen were also named in the side, while Sisanda Magala and Ryan Rickelton earned maiden Test call-ups.

Apart from that, the squad is the same as the one that successfully toured West Indies in June, and came away with a 2-0 win. This will be Dean Elgar's first home series after taking over as captain on a permanent basis. 

“We as the Selectors are excited for the return of Test cricket,” said Victor Mpitsang, CSA’s convenor of selectors. “This format is very important to CSA and keeping it relevant and alive is one of the organisation’s priorities.
“We are really looking forward to the return of Dean Elgar and his men, it’s been a long few months since the last time we saw them dominate in the West Indies." 

Watch South Africa v India on

Get access to every game in the series as South Africa host India

Olivier's inclusion comes on the back of encouraging performances in the domestic circuit – he leads the first-class wickets charts this season with 28 scalps at 11.14 – and bolsters the pace options at South Africa's disposal, with all of Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Lungi Ngidi, Beuran Hendricks and Marco Jansen in the side, not to mention the uncapped Stuurman and Magala.

In blow for the hosts, Anrich Nortje was ruled out of the series after failing to recover adequately from a persistent injury.

Keshav Maharaj will lead the spin department, but there was no place for Tabraiz Shamsi, who misses out despite featuring in the Caribbean. 

“We are confident in the team that we have selected and believe fully in backing the talent that we have unearthed and cultivated over the last couple of seasons and giving players the backing that they deserve when they have continuously done well over a significant period of time. 

“This Test series is also important in terms of getting some points in the Test Championship table and we are confident that this group will pick up from where they left off and give us a good show on home soil.”

The series will begin on Boxing Day with the first of three Tests at Centurion, with Johannesburg and Cape Town hosting the remaining two Tests. The sides will also contest in three ODIs in Paarl and Cape Town from 19 to 23 January.  

Squad: Dean Elgar (c), Temba Bavuma (vc), Quinton de Kock (wk), Kagiso Rabada , Sarel Erwee, Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Marco Jansen, Glenton Stuurman, Prenelan Subrayen, Sisanda Magala, Ryan Rickelton, Duanne Olivier


Crictos official marketplace is now open!

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!