Record for India after series win against Australia

India news

Hit For Six!

India beat Australia in a thrilling run chase in Hyderabad in the decider on Sunday to complete a 2-1 series victory.

India maintained their excellent recent record in run chases in T20Is with a win over Australia in Hyderabad in the third and final T20I. Chasing 187 to win following impressive half centuries to Tim David (54) and Cameron Green (52), India completed the run chase with one ball to spare to make it 13 successful run chases in the format in 14 attempts since 2021.

The series victory also marked India's 21st T20I win in the calendar year, the most ever recorded by a team in men's T20Is. Pakistan had held the record until now with 20 T20I wins in the year 2021.

India drew level with the Thailand women's team, which recorded 21 victories and four losses in 2019. 

Most wins by a Men's international team in a calendar year:

Team Wins Year
India 21* 2022
Pakistan 20 2021
Pakistan 17 2018
Uganda 16 2021
India 15 2016


Green got Australia off to a flyer to start the match, with the young all-rounder reaching his half-century in just 19 balls - a record against India - as the visitors looked set for a big total.

Australia lost the key wickets of Steve Smith (9) and Glenn Maxwell (6) in quick succession, with David's last hitting helping the visitors compile a decent score of 186/7.

India's run chase turned out to be a difficult one after they were reduced to 30/2. A century partnership between Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav put India back on track, but with the latter dismissed in the 14th over, the task turned out to be harder.

With 11 to win off the last over from Daniel Sams, Virat Kohli, who finished on 63 off 48 balls, hit a six off the first ball to make it five runs required off five balls. However, Kohli was dismissed the next ball with the equation further reduced to four runs needed from two balls.

An edge for four through third man off Hardik Pandya's bat gave India the record-equalling win and a series victory. 


Visit to collect iconic moments from ICC Cricket history!


More News