Sri Lanka announce 17-member Test squad for tour of New Zealand

Sri Lanka News

Hit For Six!

Dimuth Karunaratne will lead Sri Lanka in a two-Test series in New Zealand which is all set to begin on March 9.

The series carries all important World Test Championship points. Other than Australia and India, Sri Lanka are the only other side with a possibility of making it to the World Test Championship final. 

They currently have 53.33 % of possible points, and to make it to the final, Sri Lanka would need a 2-0 win against New Zealand, while also hoping other results go their way.

Historically, Sri Lanka haven’t fared well in New Zealand, winning just twice in 19 previous attempts. But the team's form in the Test game has been strong under coach Chris Silverwood.

Sri Lanka have included a number of pace options in their ranks for the tour, including Lahiru Kumara, Chamika Karunaratne, Kasun Rajitha, Asitha Fernando, Milan Rathnayake and Vishwa Fernando. 

Test Squad:

Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dinesh Chandimal, Kamindu Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella, Nishan Madushka, Ramesh Mendis, Prabath Jayasuriya, Chamika Karunaratne, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Asitha Fernando, Vishwa Fernando, Milan Rathnayake

Sri Lanka will tour New Zealand from March 9 to April 8. They are set to play two Tests, three ODIs and three T20Is on this tour.

The first Test will be played from March 9-13 at Christchurch. The second Test will be contested from March 17-21 at Wellington.


More News