Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Mithali Raj

Sukanya Parida replaces Jhulan Goswami in ODI squad

India Women news

India Women retain almost all the players who did duty during the successful tour of South Africa recently for three-ODI series against Australia Women.

The absence of Jhulan Goswami has opened the door for Sukanya Parida to return to the 15-member India Women one-day international squad for the three-match ODI series at home against Australia Women in March.

Goswami, the first woman to pick up 200 ODI wickets, suffered a heel injury during the recent tour of South Africa, where India won the three-ODI series 2-1 and the five-match Twenty20 International series 3-1. The 35-year-old pacer is expected to be out of action for an extended period.

Parida, the 24-year-old seam-bowling all-rounder, played her only international match, an ODI in Vijaywada against Windies Women, in November 2016. On that occasion, she opened the bowling and returned 5-1-14-0 as India won by 15 runs.

Jhulan Goswami is out of action with a heel injury
Jhulan Goswami is out of action with a heel injury

Taniya Bhatia, the back-up wicketkeeper to Sushma Verma, was also left out. She didn’t get a chance in the ODIs in South Africa but played all five T20Is.

All the other members of the team that did well in South Africa were retained, including Jemimah Rodrigues, the 17-year-old batter who scored 37 and 44 in two of the three innings she batted in during the T20Is.

The three matches against Australia – to be played in Vadodara on 12, 15 and 18 March – are part of the ICC Women's Championship.

Squad: Mithali Raj (capt), Harmanpreet Kaur (vice-capt), Smriti Mandhana, Punam Raut, Jemimah Rodrigues, Veda Krishnamurthy, Mona Meshram, Sushma Verma (wk), Ekta Bisht, Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shikha Pandey, Sukanya Parida, Pooja Vastrakar, Deepti Sharma.

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!

Live Cricket

ICC on Social