Windies Women World T20 2016 trophy
Women's T20 World Cup

WWT20 2018: A beginner's guide

WWT20 explainer

Hit For Six!

Everything you need to know about the premier T20 event in women's cricket later this year.

This Women’s World Twenty20 everybody’s talking about. What is it?
The ICC Women’s World T20 is the ultimate competition in the women’s Twenty20 game. It will be staged from 9-24 November in the Caribbean, with 10 teams taking part in the tournament.

Which are these 10 teams?
The Windies, as hosts, qualify automatically, and will be joined by three-time winners Australia, ODI World Cup winners England, India, Pakistan, South Africa, New Zealand and Sri Lanka. They have been joined by Bangladesh and Ireland who qualified after a stellar show at the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier in the Netherlands.

How did the qualifying process go about?

The two remaining spots were decided at the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier in the Netherlands from 3-14 July. Bangladesh, who won the Asia Cup earlier this month, the Netherlands, Ireland, Scotland, Thailand, Uganda and the United Arab Emirates competed for those two spots. The hot favourites, Bangladesh and Ireland, made it to the finals after consistent performances all through the tournament. 

Video WWT20, schedule 25 Jun 18
WWT20 2018 – Stafanie Taylor welcomes you
The Windies Women captain extends a grand welcome to the Caribbean to all the fans and players.

Fair enough. Where in the West Indies do they play these games?
The tournament will be hosted across three venues in the Caribbean: Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Stadium (Antigua), the Darren Sammy Cricket Ground (Saint Lucia) and the Guyana National Stadium (Guyana).

So, what happens in the tournament?
The 10 teams will be divided into two pools. Australia, New Zealand, India, Pakistan and Ireland will make up one group, with England, South Africa, Sri Lanka, the Windies, and Bangladesh making up the second group.

Go on …
The top two teams from each group will qualify for the semi-finals. The winner of each semi-final will clash in the final at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium on Saturday 24 November.

Who will the front runners likely be?
It's anyone's guess at this stage! Australia are the most successful side in the tournament, having won the trophy thrice before. But the Windies won it in India two years ago, and with the tournament being played at home, will want to retain the title.

England, the reigning ICC Women’s World Cup champions, are also expected to be there or thereabouts in the final stages, as are India, last year’s World Cup finalists, and New Zealand, who boast a well-balanced squad. England and New Zealand, in fact, posted record T20I totals just the other day. Bangladesh, who boast recent triumphs over the might of India, can throw in a few surprises as well. 

This could go any way.

Australia women have won the WWT20 thrice so far
Australia women have won the WWT20 thrice so far

Why is this particular edition being talked about so highly?
This will be the first ever stand-alone ICC Women’s World Twenty20 – the previous five events were hosted alongside the men’s version of the tournament – and it goes to show the ever-increasing popularity of the women’s game.

Tell me more ...
The tournament – all 23 matches, across three venues – will be broadcast live to “maintain the momentum and focus on women’s cricket”.

Furthermore, the Decision Review System (DRS) will be used in an ICC World Twenty20 event for the first time ever.

Is it that big?
It’s huge. You can find out more about DRS here.

Thanks. Is there anything else I need to know?
There are a few old rivalries being re-ignited that you cannot miss: the India v Pakistan clash on 11 November, and the trans-Tasman clash between Australia and New Zealand on 13 November will be 'can't miss' cricket.

In fact, just follow the whole tournament on

I’m sold!
Of course you are. We can't wait either!

Be sure to follow the ICC on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube for the latest news, features, video and information leading up to the tournament.

More News