The Netherlands

The Netherlands announce squads for Lord’s T20s, Nepal ODIs

Netherlands news

Hit For Six!

Michael Rippon, the all-rounder, will return to the Netherlands squads for their Twenty20 tri-series with Nepal and MCC at Lord’s, and the two one-day internationals against Nepal at home.

Rippon, who bowls left-arm wrist spin, missed out on the team’s recent matches this year, including the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2018 in Zimbabwe, because of his domestic commitments in New Zealand.

However, the Pieter Seelaar-led team will be without the services of Ryan ten Doeschate, Roelof van der Merwe and Timm van der Gugten, three of their most prominent players.

Having brought in three rookies for the T20 International tri-series featuring Scotland and Ireland recently, the Netherlands continued to blood fresh faces in Hidde Overdijk, Clayton Floyd and Tonny Staal.

Overdijk and Dan ter Braak, who featured in an ICC Intercontinental Cup match against Ireland last year, are in line to make ODI debuts in the historic series against Nepal as well.

The match against Nepal at Lord’s on 29 July will have T20I status, while the ODIs on 1 and 3 August will be the visitors’ first. Nepal got ODI status because of their performance in the Qualifier, while the Netherlands won it with their World Cricket League Championship triumph.

Video cwc19 13 Jul 18
WT20Q Venue feature - The VRA Cricket Ground in Amstelveen

Squad for tri-series: Pieter Seelaar (c), Wesley Barresi, Scott Edwards (wk), Clayton Floyd, Frederick Klaassen, Bas De Leede, Paul van Meekeren, Max O'Dowd, Hidde Overdijk, Michael Rippon, Shane Snater, Tonny Staal, Tobias Visee

Squad for ODIs: Pieter Seelaar (c), Wesley Barresi, Dan ter Braak, Ben Cooper, Scott Edwards (wk), Frederick Klaassen, Bas De Leede, Paul van Meekeren, Stephan Myburgh, Max O'Dowd, Hidde Overdijk, Shane Snater, Michael Rippon

More News