SA squad

Lutho Sipamla, Beuran Hendricks get T20I calls

South Africa news

Hit For Six!

Right-arm quick Lutho Sipamla has been called up to South Africa’s T20I squad for the first time for their series against Pakistan.

The Warriors bowler starred for Tshwane Spartans in the inaugural edition of the Mzansi Super League, even as his side finished second last in the table. The 20-year-old claimed four three-wicket hauls, impressing especially with his accurate yorkers and sharp bouncers, and finishing third on the wicket-takers charts.

“Lutho made a very good impression in the Mzansi Super League (MSL) which is making a big contribution to our talent pipeline in helping to bridge the gap between franchise and international cricket,” said CSA National Selection Panel convener Linda Zondi.

Rassie van der Dussen has impressed greatly in his ODI career so far
Rassie van der Dussen has impressed greatly in his ODI career so far

Other players have also earned selection partly through Super League performances. Rassie van der Dussen, who has impressed at the start of his ODI career with scores of 93 and 80* against Pakistan, scored 238 T20 runs for Jozi Stars since his last dismissal, has been included, as has wicket-keeper Gihahn Cloete, who will take the gauntlets, with Quinton de Kock and Heinrich Klaasen included as specialist batsmen.

Beuran Hendricks, who last played a T20I in 2017, and made his ODI debut in the third game of the series against Pakistan, has also been recalled.

“Rassie van der Dussen, Beuran and Reeza Hendricks, Lutho Sipamla, Gihahn Cloete and Anrich Nortje were all standout players in the MSL and it is already reaping rich dividends for the future of South African cricket,” said Zondi.

Beuran Hendricks claimed 1/50 on ODI debut
Beuran Hendricks claimed 1/50 on ODI debut

“With the exception of Anrich who is still injured these players are all part of the T20 squad. We will be giving Gihahn the opportunity to keep wicket as part of our strategy to build up the depth in the wicket-keeping position to back up Quinton de Kock with both Gihahn and Heinrich Klaasen capable of holding down positions as specialist batsmen.”

All-rounder Wiaan Mulder has also returned to the squad having recovered from an ankle injury, while Kagiso Rabada has been rested. The three-match series begins on Friday, 1 February.

Squad: Faf du Plessis (c), Gihahn Cloete (wk), Junior Dala, Quinton de Kock, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Chris Morris, Wiaan Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla, Rassie van der Dussen

More News