South Africa and Pakistan gear up for key contest

South Africa are No.6 in the MRF Tyres ICC Women's T20I Rankings
South Africa host Pakistan for an ICC Women’s Championship series that could be crucial in deciding who qualifies for the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 and gives leading players the chance to improve their positions in the MRF Tyres ICC Women’s ODI Player Rankings.
  • Chance for the likes of Sana, Javeria, Kapp and Lee to improve individual rankings
  • For match reports and ball-by-ball scoring log on; images from the series will be available for editorial use on the Online Media Zone; live streaming of matches on CSA’s YouTube channel

South Africa are currently fifth with 13 points and Pakistan sixth with 12 points, after 12 matches each of the eight-team championship that provides direct qualification berths to hosts New Zealand and four other top teams in the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021.

The field is competitive with the West Indies on 11 points and seventh position in the points table, an indicator of the increasing competition in the women’s game. The second cycle of the ICC Women’s Championship that runs from 2017-2020, is being played on the back of a highly successful first edition that drew praise from all quarters for ensuring more matches for women’s sides and improving the quality of the game.

Dane van Niekerk will miss the Pakistan series due to a leg injury
Dane van Niekerk will miss the Pakistan series due to a leg injury

The upcoming series could see South Africa improve their points position in home conditions in Potchefstroom (6 and 9 May) and Benoni (12 May) after recently sweeping an away series in Sri Lanka 3-0 while Pakistan would be hoping to keep up the tempo after a 2-1 series win over the West Indies.

Australia have assured themselves of a place in the World Cup as they are at the top of the table with 22 points from 12 matches while England (18 from 15) will get the chance to do so in a home series against the West Indies next month. India and New Zealand are second and third on the table with 16 and 14 points, respectively.

South Africa will miss captain Dane van Niekerk, who sustained a leg injury during a recent tour of Sri Lanka. Van Niekerk, who is the leading run scorer in the championship from either side with 529 runs from 10 matches so far, is currently ranked 13th among batters, only one slot behind Lizelle Lee. Mignon du Preez (22nd), vice-captain Chloe Tryon (24th) and Marizanne Kapp (34th) are the other leading batters for South Africa in the list led by India’s Smriti Mandhana.

Pakistan's Sana Mir is on the number 3 spot in bowlers' rankings
Pakistan's Sana Mir is on the number 3 spot in bowlers' rankings

Among their bowlers, formerly top-ranked Kapp would be looking to move into the top five as she is in sixth position and only 10 points behind India’s Shikha Pandey, with 678 rating points. Shabnim Islmail (seventh) and Ayabonga Khaka (17th) are other prominent names on the list while their captain Sune Luus (45th among batters and 33rd among bowlers) is another one with the potential of moving up in the table led by Jhulan Goswami of India.

For Pakistan, former captain Sana Mir would be looking to wrest back the top position among bowlers as she goes into this series in third position, just 12 rating points adrift of Goswami, and with the confidence of 29 wickets in 12 championship matches so far. 

Left-arm spinner Nashra Sandhu (26th) and off-spinner Nida Dar (38th) are other leading bowlers for Pakistan while Javeria Khan (24th), Nahida Khan (26th), captain Bismah Maroof (31st) and Sana Mir (35th) are the leading batters for them.


South Africa: Sune Luus (captain), Nadine De Klerk, Shabnim Ismail, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Masabata Klaas, Lizelle Lee (wicketkeeper), Zintle Mali, Mignon du Preez, Tumi Sekhukhune, Nondumiso Shangase, Andrie Steyn, Chloe Tryon, Laura Wolvaardt.

Pakistan: Bismah Maroof (captain), Aiman Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Fatima Sana, Javeria Khan, Jaweria Rauf, Kainat Imtiaz, Nahida Khan, Nashra Sandhu, Nida Dar, Rameen Shamim, Sana Mir, Sidra Amin, Sidra Nawaz (wicketkeeper) and Omaima Sohail.

South Africa v Pakistan Fixtures: 6 May (1st ODI, Potchefstroom); 9 May (2nd ODI, Potchefstroom); 12 May (3rd ODI, Benoni)

ICC Women’s Championship results, statistics, points standings and fixtures are available here

MRF Tyres ICC Women’s ODI  Player Rankings (as of 5 May, 2019)

Batters (top 10)

Rank Player Team Pts Avge Highest Rating
1 S Mandhana India 797! 42.41 797 v Eng at Mumbai 2019
2 Ellyse Perry Aus 756 51.84 773 v India at Vadodara 2018
3 A Satterthwaite NZ 755 38.98 777 v Aus at Bay Oval 2017
4 Mithali Raj India 713 51.29 878 v Aus at Baroda Vadodar 2004
5 Stafanie Taylor WI 695 43.96 785 v India at St Kitts (WP) 2012
6 Meg Lanning Aus 691 51.14 878 v NZ at Bay Oval 2016
7 Natalie Sciver Eng 689 38.92 712 v India at Mumbai 2019
8 T Beaumont Eng 685 40.53 706 v NZ at Leicester 2018
9 Suzie Bates NZ 679 42.64 796 v Aus at Bay Oval 2016
10 Sophie Devine NZ 678! 32.17 678 v Aus at Melbourne 2019 


Bowlers (top 10)

Rank Player Team Pts Avge Eco Highest Rating
1 J Goswami India 730 21.34 3.25 816 v Eng at Chennai 2007
2 Jess Jonassen Aus 723 22.05 4.17 730 v NZ at Adelaide 2019
3 Sana Mir Pak 718 24.68 3.68 719 v WI at Dubai (GCA) 2019
4 M Schutt Aus 690 23.69 4.39 721 v Pak at Kuala Lumpur 2018
5 Shikha Pandey India  688*! 20.5 3.9 688 v Eng at Mumbai 2019
6 M Kapp SA 678 24.11 3.67 735 v India at Potchefstroom (N 2017
7 Shibnam Ismail SA 663 20.53 3.6 699 v Eng at Worcester 2018
8 Katherine Brunt Eng 659 23.06 3.48 811 v India at Mumbai 2013
9 Ellyse Perry Aus 657 26.12 4.37 738 v India at Mumbai 2012
10 Poonam Yadav India  656*! 21.09 3.8 656 v Eng at Mumbai 2019


All-rounders (top five)

Rank Player Team Pts Highest Rating
1 Ellyse Perry Aus 496 504 v India at Hobart 2016
2 Stafanie Taylor WI 414 602 v NZ at Kingston 2013
3= D van Niekerk SA 388 421 v SL at Potchefstroom 2019
  Deepti Sharma India 388 397 v NZ at Hamilton 2019
5 Natalie Sciver Eng  307/*! 307 v SL at Katunayake 2019

More Media Releases

Live Cricket