Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Media Release

European neighbours compete for a spot on the global stage in World Cricket League – Europe Division 1

Usman Khan bowling for France at the ICC Europe Division 1 Tournament in Voorburg, The Netherlands

Cricketers from six of Europe’s top cricketing nations will be competing in next month’s 2017 ICC World Cricket League – Europe Division 1, with each side hoping to qualify for the next step towards the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup.

The Dutch cities of Rotterdam, Amsterdam, Utrecht and The Hague will all play host to teams from Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Norway and Sweden for the tournament being held from June 9th – June 16th.

The tournament will be contested in a single round robin format, with each team competing once per day. The team that finishes top of the pile after all games are played will qualify for the ICC World Cricket League Division 5, which will take place in South Africa later on in the year.

All six countries will fancy their chances of qualification in what looks to be a competitive tournament between European neighbours, with both Germany and Sweden hoping to keep up momentum following their promotion from Europe Division 2 in 2016.

The ICC has worked closely with the KNCB to prepare for the tournament in the Netherlands, where David Woutersen, member of the local organising committee stated: “The KNCB is looking forward to host the six teams, officials and everyone involved in this tournament”.

Woutersen highlights the role of the many volunteers who are active across five different venues to prepare for the arrival of the teams in June: “Much of our gratitude goes out to the clubs and all the volunteers who want to make this tournament a great success.”

“May the sun shine and the best team win in the right Spirit of the Game.” Woutersen concluded.

Tournament director Esther de Lange looks forward to a tournament that will showcase the talent in European cricket.

“The European squads are hungry for more cricket at a global level. The context of the tournament will hopefully lead to some closely contested matches.”.

The tournament will begin on Friday June 9th with the first round of matches: a western European clash between France and Germany, Belgium facing Sweden and Austria taking on Norway.

Fans of European cricket will be able to attend all matches for free and for those not able to attend the grounds, a dedicated tournament page including live scoring will be available through Squads to be released.

9 June: France vs Germany (VCC), Belgium vs Sweden (Kampong), Austria vs Norway (VOC)
10 June: Belgium vs Norway (VCC), Germany vs Austria (Kampong), Sweden vs France (VOC)
11 June: Rest/reserve
12 June: Norway vs Germany (VOC), Belgium vs France (Excelsior), Austria vs Sweden (VRA)
13 June: Austria vs Belgium (VCC), Germany vs Sweden (Excelsior), Norway vs France (VRA)
14 June: Rest/Reserve
15 June: France vs Austria (VCC), Belgium vs Germany (VOC), Sweden vs Norway (Excelsior)
16 June: Reserve

More Media Releases

Live Cricket

ICC on Social