Official ICC App

New Zealand finish ahead of Australia in Test Team Rankings

Kane Williamson
Both Australia and New Zealand have 102 points but New Zealand lead their trans-Tasman neighbours on decimal points and occupy the third spot.

New Zealand have overtaken Australia to take third position in the MRF Tyres ICC Test Team Rankings after the Christchurch and Johannesburg Test matches, which has resulted in them getting a bigger purse from the International Cricket Council at the extended cut-off date of 3 April.

New Zealand’s 1-0 series win over England and Australia’s 3-1 loss to South Africa have resulted in both teams finishing on 102 points in the team rankings. However, New Zealand are ahead by a wafer-thin margin, as they are now on 102.263 points and Australia are on 102.2 points.

The change in rankings means that New Zealand will now get a prize money of $200,000 for finishing third while Australia will have to be content with $100,000.

MRF Tyres ICC Test Rankings as on 3 April 2018
MRF Tyres ICC Test Rankings as on 3 April 2018

South Africa had already assured themselves of the second place and $500,000 after having taken up a 2-1 lead in the series since only Australia could overtake them in the team list. Australia needed to win 3-0 or better to overtake South Africa while they had to avoid losing 3-1 or worse to ensure that neither New Zealand nor England could overtake them.

India have already been presented with the ICC Test Championship Mace and a $1 million prize money after they sealed the top spot following victory in the Johannesburg Test against South Africa in January. South Africa had won the series 2-1.

India and South Africa had also finished in similar rankings in 2017.

MRF Tyres ICC Test Team Rankings (as on 3 April, after the Christchurch and Johannesburg Tests)

Rank Team Points
1 India 121
2 South Africa 117 (+2)
3 New Zealand 102 (+2)
4 Australia 102 (-2)
5 England 97 (-2)
6 Sri Lanka 95
7 Pakistan 88
8 Windies 72
9 Bangladesh 71
10 Zimbabwe 1


(Developed by David Kendix)

*The cut-off for the annual rankings is generally 1 April but was extended this year owing to these two series ending on 3 April.

More Media Releases

Live Cricket

ICC on Social