Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Media accreditation process opens for ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

ICC Cricket World Cup trophy
Members of the media can now register for accreditation to attend the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019.
  • Media Terms and Conditions, and accreditation FAQs are available here

This is a two-stage online process that can be completed by clicking here and is only for the written press, photographers and non-rights holding TV and radio broadcasters.

Due to limited spaces in the media working areas, only journalists and photographers who have covered one of the following ICC Events will be accredited for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019:

  1. ICC Women’s World T20 2018
  2. ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2018
  3. ICC Women’s World Cup 2017
  4. ICC Champions Trophy 2017
  5. ICC World T20 2016
  6. ICC Cricket World Cup 2015

If you have not attended one of the above or if you have only covered home internationals but believe your circumstances warrant media accreditation, then please apply and the ICC will give due consideration to your request.

In the first phase of the process, which will run until 17h00 Dubai time on 14 January 2019, the media will be required to register for accreditation. As part of the process, the media will need to upload the following documents and, therefore, the ICC strongly advises applicants to have these prepared in soft copy as you will not be able to submit the application form without them.

  1. A colour headshot photograph with a plain background (like a passport photo) – jpeg file
  2. Letter of approval/assignment from your editor – pdf or jpeg file

The ICC reserves the right to approve/reject/request further information on all applications in its sole discretion and without providing reasons for doing so.

Applications will be reviewed throughout the period so the earlier you apply the earlier you will be notified if you have been successful.

In the second phase of the process, which will run from 1 to 28 February 2019, the successful applicants will be requested to revisit their accreditation portal to select matches they intend to cover.

Whilst selecting matches, the media is advised to bear in mind the following:

  • Your tournament pass doesn’t guarantee you a space in the media working area on a match day. Therefore, for each match, there will be  a match-day accreditation list which the ICC will prepare as per its pecking order, meaning preference will be given to international news agencies, news agencies from competing countries, national daily newspapers from competing countries and national daily newspapers from host country (please refer to the FAQs document to read more about the ICC’s pecking order)
  • For each match, there will be a quota, which is: three reporters and three photographers from international news agencies, and two reporters and two photographers from national news agencies, national daily newspapers from competing countries and national daily newspapers from the host country. Space permitting, one reporter and two photographers per non-participating country’s media will be accredited
  • Match notifications for the tournament will begin in March 2019 and will be published on the online portal. You will be able to log into your account and see the matches for which you have been allocated a seat in the press box, or a photo position.

As at previous ICC events, Non-Rights Holders (NRHs) camerapersons will be accredited for the tournament, but only reporters will be accredited on match days. However, to facilitate the NRHs, who will be allowed to cover pre-match activities, all post-match media conferences and players’ interactions in the mixed zone will be uploaded to the ICC’s Online Media Zone.

The media is strongly advised to carefully read the Media Terms and Conditions, and also refer to the FAQs document to avoid any misunderstandings or inconvenience.

Travelling to the UK

The UK Home Office has recommended to the media intending to travel for coverage purposes to apply for a visa as soon as possible but not more than three months in advance of the date of travel into the UK. As such, and to facilitate the media in this process, the ICC will provide visa letters to the successful applicants following the conclusion of the first phase of the media accreditation process.

Media requiring visa letters are advised to contact Nicole Reynolds, Media Operations Manager, at The email must include scanned copy of the front page of the passport and name of the city where the application will be made.

About the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

  • The tournament will run from 30 May to 14 July. The semi-finals will be played at Old Trafford in Manchester and Edgbaston in Birmingham on 9 and 11 July respectively, while Lord’s will host the final on 14 July
  • Eleven venues across England and Wales will be used, namely Cardiff Wales Stadium in Cardiff (four matches), Bristol County Ground in Bristol (three matches), County Ground Taunton in Taunton (three matches), Edgbaston in Birmingham (five matches, including the second semi-final), Hampshire Bowl in Southampton (five matches), Headingley in Leeds (four matches), Lord’s in London (five matches, including the final), Old Trafford in Manchester (six matches, including the first semi-final), The Oval in London (five matches, including the tournament opener), The Riverside Durham in Chester-le-Street (three matches) and Trent Bridge in Nottingham (five matches)
  • The 10 teams in the tournament will play against each other in a single-league format, with the top four sides after 45 matches to qualify for the two semi-finals
  • England and Wales have previously staged ICC Cricket World Cups in 1975, 1979, 1983 and 1999
  • Australia is the most successful team in the history of the World Cup, having won events in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015. The West Indies won the first two editions in 1975 and 1979, while India won in 1983 and 2011. Other winners are Pakistan in 1992 and Sri Lanka in 1996

For more details contact:

Nicole Reynolds
Media Operations Manager, ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

More Media Releases

Live Cricket